Halfway to Baby!

At almost 23 weeks, I’m a few weeks past the half-way point with our baby GIRL!  Caroline Diane is due at the end of July…

It's a GIRL!

It’s a GIRL!

 

On the health and weight front, I’m up nearly 20 pounds, matching my heaviest weight ever.  For good reason of course, but I can’t help but be a little freaked out by seeing the scale go up.  I’m sure those of you who’ve struggled with weight your whole lives can relate to this!  Obviously dieting is out of the question, but I’m only supposed to gain 25-35 pounds, so I do need to pay attention and slow down the gain.  What’s more, I’ve read that what you eat during pregnancy can influence the what your baby will like.  Well I certainly don’t want this kid liking chocolate and candy more than veggies!  Time to get back on juice and veggie smoothies, which I’ve neglected since getting pregnant.

Exercise is much more challenging these days.  It was usually out of the question during my first trimester, as I spent much of it sick and feeling accomplished just to get out of bed and go to work for 12 hours a day.  I’m feeling better in my second trimester and have resumed daily walks, and occasionally a light jog or the elliptical machine.  Back and belly pain has slowed me down quite a bit, which is quite aggravating being a lifetime athlete to feel so limited!  It helps push me forward to think of keeping myself and my baby healthy, and selfishly, to shed the baby weight quickly post-baby.  I found a selfie that I took just before getting pregnant, when I was in the best shape of my life!  I will post it later and use it as my motivation to get my body back.  Meanwhile, I’ll continue the daily grind.

 

Ladies, for those that have been through pregnancy, I’d love to hear about your healthy journey, before and after!

Leave a Reply

