Hello Juice!

Wow, has it really been 3 years?  Yes, and happy to say that I’m still going strong!  It’s been 3 long years since I committed to a healthier life, and a lot has happened in that time.  Probably the most impactful has been that we’ve moved TWICE, and now live in Nashville, Tennessee.

Our new home sweet home in Music City (Nashville)!

I’ve read that moving is one of the most stressful things a person can live through, and can cause an upheaval in routines and healthy habits alike.  I fell off the wagon during the first move, from Knoxville to Columbus, Ohio, and had to work my tail off to get back on track, but learned my lesson and had a much better outcome during the recent move.  In fact, I finally hit my lifetime goal weight, despite travelling 90% of the time, and am still losing weight without hardly trying!  How, you ask?  Read on…

First, let’s recap my year-end weigh ins.  This is a lifestyle change, afterall, so how have I done keeping it off in 3 years?

weekly-weigh-in

Starting Weight: 144 pounds (December, 2010)

1 year Weight: 135 pounds (December, 2011)

2 year Weight: 137 pounds (December, 2012) … after the first move!

2.5 year Weight: 132 pounds (June, 2013)

3 year (current) Weight: 124 pounds (November, 2013)

Fat Sick Nearly DeadSpring, 2012… While still striving to lose the few pounds I gained during the move, and continue my quest to be my healthiest self, I happen upon an amazing documentary about Juicing called “Fat, Sick, & Nearly Dead”.  If you guys haven’t seen this, you need to check it out!  I’m sure you’ve noticed that over the past couple of years, a lot of fresh juice bars are popping up (even Starbucks started one), and many of these small business owners will tell you this movie is what inspired them.  Within a few days of watching the move, I bought a $400 juicer, a cart full of produce, and started juicing.  I felt great, and it did help lose a few pounds, but wow, it’s a lot of work to buy, clean, chop, juice, and clean up!  And it only last 2 days in the fridge, so you’re going through that process constantly.  I continued to juice off and on, but my work schedule made it impossible to make it part of my daily life.

Fast forward to August, 2013… I have the amazing opportunity to not only take a better, less stressful job, but move home to Nashville where both my husband and I have family.  The catch?  My first 4 months will be spent working remotely in Atlanta.  Hmm, travel is usually a diet killer!  I was terrified of the daily food decisions, while living in hotels and eating out frequently.  My first week was a diet disaster; something had to change before it was too late.  Enter juice again.  Upon doing a little research, I discovered that Atlanta has many highly-rated juice bars, and some of them deliver!  So I signed up for a “3-day cleanse” from DTox Juice to get started.  Nothing but vegetable (& a little fruit) juice and nut milk for 3 days!  They delivered daily to my hotel, and I took them to work.  It was so easy not having to even think about food; every few hours, I just pulled out a juice.  I ended up going almost 5 days on the juice cleanse before adding back food, starting with dinner, and then snacks too, even having a few splurge meals here and there.  I continued to order juice weekly, sometimes just subbing 1-2 meals a day, or supplementing for veggies when none were available.  Three months later, not only did I maintain my weight, but it keeps falling!  Somehow I expect that each time I step on the scale, even after returning to more solid foods, I’ll rebound back to my old weight, but the scale just keeps falling.   I’m now down to 124 pounds, a full 20 pounds lighter than when I started 3 years ago… it always amazes to imagine that like 2 bowling balls!

The best part, however, has not been my own personal weight loss, it’s been the impact on others around me.  Both my husband and even my father-in-law have become juice converts, which makes me so proud!  My self-proclaimed “meatitarian” husband had a couple of traumatic life events that forced him to think about his health, and after seeing all of my success, decided juice might be the answer for him as well.  He started by sampling some of my juice, which he had so often deemed “disgusting” previously, and suddenly discovered they weren’t so bad afterall.  He even learned how to use my juicer and presses some of his own juice concoctions; picking up made-to-order juice at Juice Bar the rest of the time.

Dtox

It’s an exciting time, especially with the holidays upon us!  I’d love to hear from you… how are your healthy journeys going??  Let us know!

One thought on “Hello Juice!

  1. Great Job! We got a juicer over the summer and I love it! I haven’t been brave enough to juice veggies. Just fruit right now.

Leave a Reply

