300 miles on a bike? Oh my!

Hello, blog world!  I’m long overdue for an update.

First up, a couple of you asked about my company’s team weight loss challenge… well my 2-person team did not win, as my partner dropped out early on and I was travelling with work so much that I missed a couple of the weigh-ins.  But alas, I did manage to drop the winter bloat and am back down to my 14-year low of 129 pounds.  So I’m feeling pretty good!  Still 4 pounds to go to my goal of 125, and my new cycling adventure is helping with that!

At the end of July, my husband and I will join hundreds of athletes, volunteers and community supporters in the 26th Annual Wish-A-Mile Bicycle Tour, benefiting the Make-A-Wish Foundation.​ We’ll start our 3-day, 300-mile ride in Traverse City, MI, and snake our way across the state, ending at the Michigan International Speedway.​  This is my husband’s 4th time on this ride, and he convinced me to go this year.  The training reminds me a lot of marathon training – total dedication to several hours of long rides every weekend, plus shorter rides during the week.  I’ve had to start back on MyFitnessPal to make sure I get enough calories, which is an odd change from cutting back.  It would be so easy to eat 3,000 bad calories of burgers, fried foods, and my favorite desserts, but your body needs healthy foods to fuel peak performance!

So here’s to a great bike ride, and finally reaching my 125-pound goal weight!  I hope everyone is having a fabulous summer.

You can read more about the ride, or donate to make our wish-kid’s dream come true at:  http://wam.kintera.org/rhurst

WAM 145

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “300 miles on a bike? Oh my!

Leave a Reply

