Mondays

I have a love-hate relationship with Mondays.  On one hand, I love new beginnings, and Monday has always felt like a new beginning for me, like a New Years every week.  On the other, well, getting up at 5am is not as appealing as lounging until 8 and staying in my pajamas half the day.

So todays’ new beginning is off to a good start.  I got in a decent little workout before work (a bonus workout to burn off all the weekend crap!) with 15 minutes on the elliptical followed by 10 minutes of Yoga.  My husband gets up for work between 4:30 and 5, and I don’t leave for work until about 7:30, so there’s always plenty of time in the mornings, although by nature I’m still rushing to get out the door on time!  I also prepped lots of good food on Sunday, which makes eating healthy during the week so much easier.  I experimented with a couple of new recipes, which I’ve linked below.  I’ve never made spaghetti squash before, but it was really easy and so yummy!  I’ve never been a big pasta-eater, but this offers so many new opportunities for meals since you can eat this as a side dish, or as the base to an entrée like pasta.  Plus, you can roast the seeds of any squash, just like pumpkin.  I tossed them with a little olive oil, sea salt, smoked paprika, and pepper, then baked them for 15 minutes on 300 degrees, shaking every 5 minutes.  I broiled them the last 30 seconds to make them nice and toasty.

Next, I decided to go ahead and scope out some 5ks and community rides for the Spring to keep up my motivation and have a goal to work towards.  As if a 300-mile bike ride in July wasn’t goal enough!  I have a local Columbus site that I use, but Active.com is also great for finding these events in your area.

Lastly, I signed up for an organic produce & protein home delivery program called Green BEAN.  I’ve thought about it many times before but finally decided to sign after several co-workers decided to as well.  Basically, it’s like a CSA, they source organic produce and proteins that are grown locally (whenever possible) and deliver it to your door once a week.  For me, the biggest attraction was getting a random selection of local produce to try.  I tend to get stuck in a produce rut, only buying the same 4-5 things, which can get boring!  And if I can’t finish it all, I just throw it in my juicer and drink it.

Want to find a CSA near you?  Click here.

Grean BEAN

 

Today’s Menu & Exercise Plan

  • Workout (5:30 am)- 15 minutes Elliptical, 10 minutes yoga
  • Breakfast (7:30 am) – Light berry muffin with cream cheese, 1/2 cup carrot juice & vitamins
  • Snack (10:45 am) – Toasted squash seeds, rice Chex, GNC Pump Fuel (1/2 packet mixed with water)
  • Workout (11:30 am) – Strength training, 15 minutes running, 15 minutes cycling
  • Lunch (2 pm) – Mixed Greens with Lime Vinaigrette, topped with leftover Ruby Tuesday Caribbean Chicken & fresh tomatoes
  • Dinner (6:30 pm) – Spaghetti Squash with Turkey Meatballs, leftover Ruby Tuesday garlic cheddar biscuit

 

Spaghetti Squash & Meatballs

One thought on “Mondays

Leave a Reply

