Just Checking In

food-choices-cartoon

 

Yeah, this picture pretty much summarizes my last 2 weeks.  I started with the apple, after which I ended up feeling deprived, then went through a week-long binge filled by guilt.  And that’s where I am today – back to square one.

(Sigh) … this is going to be harder than I thought.  I’ve decided that as one of you pointed out a couple of weeks ago, the “detox” is not good for me.  Yes, it’s quick and you feel great at the end, but I think it’s backfired on me every time.  Thinking back to when I started this journey 2 years ago, I was only successful after several rounds of up and down before I got on track and found balance.

Oh well, I’m not going to despair.  Every day is a new day and this should be a pretty slow week for me – a perfect opportunity to get in some good workouts and no excuses not to eat healthy!

How did everyone do last week?  Hopefully better than me, but if not, it’s OK!  Just brush yourself off and start back again.  Who’s going to win the jewelry??  I got a peek of Stella & Dot’s Spring line and it’s gorgeous… check it out!

3 thoughts on “Just Checking In

  1. Hey, doll. Same for me- I started strong and then backpedaled for a week, gaining some back. I started at 168, and now at 164.6 (gained back 0.8 pounds). On the good side, I feel like I’m getting on an exercise plan I can actually do (even though it’s challenging)… but eating is just a day at a time. I just love it so much, and I can’t help it if food loves me back. Don’t bother arguing with me, I know it does- I caught it giving me bedroom eyes from across the room just yesterday. 😉

    It was a challenging week emotionally, and it was interesting to see just how much of the excess eating I did was emotionally-based. I think part of the difficulty in managing emotional eating are the very real, very strong hunger pangs. People don’t eat emotionally because they don’t feel hungry- also, add to that the hunger pangs that accompany increased ghrelin because of weight loss, and it seems like an insurmountable challenge. At the end of the week, though, I feel better and am sleeping better from the exercise. I also have to remind myself that I am a total of 13.4 pounds down from my all-time heaviest (all least the heaviest I know of. I stopped weighing myself after a while), so I call it a win overall. Stay with it, ladies! I will, too.

  2. I did not have a good wk as far as weight. I am 140, but I did exercise more this wk than last. After, my friend got kidnaped in her own home, I realize, making cookies with my kids and eatting one is ok. My friend exscaped, with little injury, but lots of emotional fears. He is not caught, so I am praying for her contined safety. She had lost weight & exercises, but her running from him, with him chasing after her, she said was not due to her strength, but God’s. So that is what I am reling on, God’s strength, not mine, to help me with a healthy weight, but most importantly, a healthy body.

    2 Timothy 1:7 For God did not give us a spirit of fear and timody, but of power, love and self discipline.

Leave a Reply

