Surviving the Roller Coaster

We recently made of first trip to Cedar Point, the mecca of roller coasters on Lake Erie in northern Ohio.  I hadn’t been on a roller coaster in probably 10 years, so I sucked up my fear and decided to join my young nieces on a couple.  Oh my gosh!  I totally forgot the horrible anxiety that I feel leading up the first big drop, and that horrible feeling in my stomach.  I’m guessing not everyone feels that pain, otherwise they wouldn’t go!  We still had a great time though.  It was good seeing family and friends, and there were lots of other non-roller-coaster rides.  My diet took a bit of a back seat with so much yummy amusement park food to behold, but I did go for a nice 6-mile run around the exterior of the park and along the lake!

That’s my husband and I on the left, as if you couldn’t tell with our Tennessee hats!

For those who’ve read my blog before, you know that my husband was out of a job for a long time – 20 months to be exact.  Part of that time he spent going back to school to finish his Master’s, and I focused my blogs last Spring on how to diet on a budget!  However we had no idea that upon our move to Ohio in January to the booming Columbus economy (literally), it would still take 9 more months for him to find reasonable work.  However it was worth the wait, and he ended up with several opportunities, choosing a relatively new, woman-run, jewelry company called Stella & Dot.  They are opening a new Distribution Center in Columbus for their booming jewelry business, and he’ll be the Operations Leader.  He’s in his second week now and really loving it.  Plus, he gets free jewelry sometimes, so naturally I benefit too!  It does seem funny though that the cheeseburger lover works for a jewelry company, while the jewelry lover works for a cheeseburger company.  Hmm.

Here’s a video from a recent Stella & Dot meeting.  Very inspirational for women:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TPPOMpIARi0&feature=plcp

So that brings me back to roller coasters.  My life has felt like a roller coaster in the past couple of years.  Between my work struggles and transitions, my husbands lack of work, the usual family & personal drama, ongoing struggle to resist junk food, lack of motivation and overall fatigue, and generally just the struggle to accept myself, it’s been a constant up and down ride.  If there’s one constant that given me strength, it’s taking care of myself.  I worked so hard last year to clean up my diet and get more regular exercise.  Now that the weather is turning cooler and my job stress is ramping up as several project deadlines loom closer, it’s so tempting to go into hibernation mode, blow off workouts, and eat comfort food.  And Fall also brings the beginning of the Halloween candy, holiday food, and baking season.  I know people mean well with their giant baskets of homemade treats, heck, I’ve done it too, but just one of those little cookies will send me into a sugar rage and then the guilt and bloat that follows.  Below is one of the many baskets of goodies that show up around the office several times a week, always at a key intersection where they can’t be avoided, and by late morning or late afternoon, we’re usually given in despite having a healthy lunch and not being hungry.  Why, oh why, is this so difficult??? 

Leave a Reply

