Weekly Weigh-Ins

I said I wasn’t going to weigh-in regularly after hitting my pre-vacation goal, but then discovered that I’d gained a few when I got back and was reminded that I’ve been here before: work hard to reach a goal, then creep back into my old habits.  So, as much as I’d like to toss the scale, I’d better keep up my weekly weigh-ins for a while.  Plus, I’ve got a new goal now – 125!  I was delighted to see the scale back at 130 today, my pre-vacation weight, even after a little too mcuh sugar this week.  So that leaves 5 pounds and 8 weeks before our next beach trip Labor Day weekend… piece of cake… wait… can I still use that phrase?  What is the alternative??

Another weigh-in to report, my sister has joined the journey to better health and is down 3 pounds from 144 pounds to 141, ironically the same exact place I started and with the same end-goal!  She enlisted the help of Medi Weight Loss Clinic in Nashville, and the plan they’ve got her on is a low-carb / low-calorie diet, as listed below.  She’s struggling a little so far with food prep and eating out, but hey, we’ve all been there before!  It’s a long road, but keep going strong, Liz.

*Goal weight: 125 lb
*Goal BMI: 21.5

 
WEEK 1 (Day 1)

Weight: 144.8 lb
BMI: 24.9
Fat%: 30.5%
Fat Mass: 44.2 lb
Nutrition goal:
– Consume at least 500 calories of protein only each day
– Drink 128 fluid ounces of water (32 fl oz containing electrolytes) 

 
WEEK 2 (Day 9)
Weight: 141.2 lb
BMI: 24.2
Fat%: 30.6%
Fat Mass: 43.2 lb
Nutrition goal:
– Consume at least 500 calories of protein each day
– Drink 128 fluid ounces of water (32 fl oz containing electrolytes)
– Consume 2 – 3 servings a day of veggies (serving size: 1 cup raw or 1/2 cup cooked)
– Consume 1/2 – 1 serving a day of fruit (serving sizes vary–chart provided)
– Do not exceed 40 grams of carbs a day
– Do not exceed 800 calories (total) a day

***

So I was thinking about processed food this morning as I prepared our breakfast sandwiches with enriched-white-bread mini buns and processed cheese slices.  Neither of these items would have been my choice if I’d purchased them… I would have picked the un-bleached, whole wheat bread and the natural cheddar slices (or skipped the cheese altogether).  However, I get a lot of free stuff from work and sometimes I don’t think a little processed food is that bad .  Afterall, if someone is going to give you, say $10, in free food, wouldn’t you use it and save the $10?  I’ll pass on the sugary stuff, but meat, bread, and cheese is all fair game to fill my fridge and save money at the grocery (plus veggies, but there’s no health debate with those!).  So where do you draw the line with processed food?  I think this is a good blog topic to explore in more detail at some point.

Daily Menu & Workout Plan:

  • 6 am – Small egg & cheese breakfast sandwich, blackberries, vitamin
  • 10 am – Shrimp with brown rice & veggies, walk in the park
  • 11 am – Company 4th of July cookout.  Will resist the hot dogs, chips, and cupcakes, but maybe have a little fruit.
  • 3pm – Nectarine, almonds, crackers
  • 7pm – Baseball game… I’ll figure something out.

Leave a Reply

