Frustrated

I’m feeling very frustrated this morning.  My hopes of returning to school to work on another degree in Nutrition were quickly dashed when I reviewed class schedules.  Clearly they are made for undergraduate students that have nothing else to do – all late morning and early afternoon.  I was hoping for early morning or late afternoon!  Getting a couple of bad class schedules is one thing, but most of them seem to follow that schedule, and would require quitting my current job and going full-time, something I cannot consider right now while I am the sole income in our household.  So, I will table that thought for now and think about whether or not it’s something I want to consider later, or if I want to go a different route and get certifications or other forms of education, but not the formal degree.  I’m open to suggestions.  =(

Switching gears now… dinner last night was fabulous.  I love wraps for dinner because they are quick, healthy, and yummy.  Last night I made one with 1/2 chopped avocado (healthy fat), 1/4 chopped tomato (produce), about 1/4 cup kidney beans (protein), fresh cilantro, lime, and a sprinkle of cumin and chili powder, all on a low-carb medium-sized flour tortilla (whole grain).  It was very tasty and filling.

Today’s Menu & Workout Plan:

  • 7 am – Small egg & cheese sandwich, 1 cup carrot juice, vitamin
  • 11:30 am – Greek yogurt with blackberries and pistachios, Kashi crackers
  • 1:00 pm — Strength training: chest / back, jump rope
  • 3:30 pm – 3oz fish with mixed veggies and 1/2 cup brown rice
  • 6:00 pm — 10 mile bike ride
  • 8:00 pm – Avocado, bean, and tomato soft taco

I’m doing pretty well getting back into my healthy eating habits post-vacation, however am still struggling with sugar cravings.  I did detox for a couple of days when I got back, but that got cut short by the power outage and my cravings for sugar are still there.  I’ve can usually get through the day just fine, but feel strong urges when I get home.  It’s like my brain has been programmed to eat as soon as I get home and I start feeling hunger pangs when I’m getting close to home, even if I’ve just had my afternoon snack a couple of hours before.  The Cinch book actually discussed this and learning to separate real hunger from cravings.  This falls into the cravings category.  I don’t have much sugar around the house, aside from some macadamia-nut-Hershey-kisses that I brought back from Hawaii, and some dark-chocolate chips, which are usually on-hand for my granola bars. 

I will continue trying to fight the urge to indulge at night.  Maybe my weigh-in Friday will help keep me motivated.  I’ve set a new goal of 125 pounds by Labor Day, our next beach trip to Hilton Head.

5 thoughts on “Frustrated

  1. Hi Rebecca!
    Could you possibly take some night courses for your degree? You would think that in this day and age they would have more options for us “older” folk 🙂

    Your dinner sounds yummy!! My hardest thing is prepping and making meals ahead of time so I don’t get fast food (as healthy as I can get) on the way home….it’s hard work to stay healthy and can I say EXPENSIVE!

    My scale said 129 this morning, then switched to 130 after a few sec…..can I count the 129?? LOL My new goal is 125 by Aug. 15th when my hubby gets home for vacation. Which reminds me….he’s going to Afghanistan tomorrow and will stationed there till Dec! I’m trying not to stress eat, but BOY is it hard!! I have Yoga tonight and am really looking forward to it to get my mind off of things.

    Have a WONDERFUL day!

    • Unfortunatley, our local university does not offer night class options in the Science / Nutrition field. Frustrating, but I’ll continue to review options. I’m not giving up!

      Food prep used to be an issue for me too, but now I’ve gotten into the habit of cooking Sundays & Wednesdays and that pretty much lasts the entire week. This past Sunday, I made a bunch of brown rice, veggies, and a couple fish fillets. Then divided them into containers. I also made spaghetti with spinach and beef for my husband, which made 4 portions. I really only “cook” twice a week. I’ll also portion out fruit, veggies, and yogurt for quick grab-and-go snacks when I’m headed off to work. I very rarely eat fast food, but if I do, it’s normally Taco Bell soft tacos or Subway’s Veggie Delight. Sounds like a good blog topic… what to eat when you really have no choice but fast food.

      Congratulations on the weight loss. It’s funny that we are so similar! My dad is leaving for Afghanistan next month, but I can’t imagine the stress of my husband leaving, so I feel for you. But it does give extra motivation to stick to your diet, and also a little easier I think. My husband prefers a very different diet than I do and it can be challenging to eat my healthy meal while he’s chowing down on beef and potatoes. Ha ha ha.

      • That’s a great idea about cooking Sunday and Wednesday and one more thing we have in common…lol I work at home on Wednesday’s so I would be able to cook that day too….I hadn’t thought of breaking it up like that thank you!!

        Yes, it is very stressful knowing he’s going there, especially since I thought we were done with all of that after his retirement, but you do what you have to do and like you said, I can throw all my stress, fear and anger into my workouts and be ready for him to come home!! At least we are on the same page with the nutrition stuff so it’s not so hard for me to make meals when he’s home….I can imagine that makes it very difficult, but you are doing GREAT! Keep up the good work!!

  2. Rebecca, have you thought about becoming a “Life Coach” with your focus being health & nutrition? I think you would be brilliant!

    Trish

Leave a Reply

