Our Life Purpose

Since turning 30 last summer, I’ve been plagued with the question…

 

What is my purpose in life?

I guess a lot of us go through that at some point.  I’m not unhappy or anything, but have this overwhelming sense that I’m supposed to be doing something more.  I try to do my part in society – work my 40 hours per week, pay my bills and taxes, volunteer occasionally, and try to be a good person.  We can’t have children, but even if I could, I don’t think my only purpose is to pro-create, so then what? 

As I ponder this question, the thought of focusing more on health and wellness has often crossed my mind.  It’s something I’ve been passionate about most of my life, I enjoy learning and blogging about it, and I like helping other people by passing it along (when they’re willing to listen!).  This weekend I saw “Super Size Me” for the first time, a 2003 documentary by Morgan Spurlock about our fast food culture, and suddenly had an ah-ha moment… maybe sharing my knowledge of nutrition and helping people live healthier, happier lives is my way to give back?

So I’m embarking on a new journey… back to school at the University of Tennessee (good ol’ Rocky Top) for another degree in Food Science and Nutrition, which includes becoming a Registered Dietician (RD).  I’ve got my first advising appointment next week and intend to register for classes starting this Fall, just 5 weeks away!  It will probably take me 2-3 years part-time, and the thought of taking 22 more classes (6 more than was required for my entire MBA program) is a bit overwhelming, but I know I can do it.  What’s more, I can use it towards my work in the restaurant business by helping create more nutritious menus.

Naturally, I’ll blog about the experience of “Becoming an RD”, and also continue to share what I’m eating… that’s all anybody really cares about anyway, right?    =)

Today’s Menu & Workout Plan:

  • 6 am – 1/2 almond butter sandwich, nectarine
  • 6:30 am – 5 mile run
  • 9 am – Greek yogurt with blackberries and wheat germ
  • 12 pm – 3oz fish with mixed veggies and 1/2 cup brown rice
  • 3 pm – Apple, 10 almonds
  • 7 pm – Avocado soft taco
One thought on “Our Life Purpose

  1. You know I’ve been pondering the same question lately! I’m about done with my masters degree in ex phys and then I’d really like to find a full-time career that has purpose for me and is not just work for the paycheck. Of course work is not always as fun as play, but it’s good to have something that you really enjoy 🙂 Biggest advice from me is if you can do a combined masters degree with your internship. Also try to find a school that is right in line with your aspirations in the dietetic field, which is very diverse. It is more school and time, but I wish I would have done that 🙂 Wishing you the best!

Leave a Reply

