The Day After…

19 days to go!

… a cheat meal.  Most experts agree, it’s OK to have a cheat meal every now and then.  Some even say you should budget for it every week to be sure your body doesn’t think it’s in starvation mode.  But what nobody seems to address is the aftermath of a cheat meal.  You know what I’m talking about – that bloated, sluggish, un-motivated feeling that sticks around for days.  Or worse, the sugar cravings that come back with a vengeance.

I actually did quite well over the weekend.  My junk-food cravings had all but disappeared and it had become quite easy to eat healthily.  My husband and I spent the entire weekend volunteering at the Rev3 Triathalon – a school requirement for my husband, and just curiosity for me.  I actually really enjoyed it and was so inspired after seeing all of the cyclists, that I had my best ever 18-mile bike ride later that evening.  The down side of being out of the house all weekend, however, was the limited availability of healthy food options (yes, even at a fitness event, surprisingly).  So we packed a cooler each day with almond butter and banana sandwiches, pretzels, and apples, and did OK.  We did go out to eat once and I managed to stick to my bowl of fruit while my husband polished off this monstrosity all by himself:

 

So that’s all well and good, but Monday was a long, rough day without time for the gym and we ended up splurging on a cheat meal later that night at Litton’s (a cult favorite around here) – burgers, fries, and red velvet cake.  A very rare meal combination for me, especially since I rarely eat meat, but it just sounded good.  We even had the red velvet cake as appetizer!

 

I didn’t feel guilty afterwards – incredibly full, but not guilty.  But today I had trouble getting up and feel sluggish, bloated, and completely un-motivated to stick to my healthy habits.  I did drag myself out of bed and manage a workout this morning, and packed my healthy snacks, but I know it will be days before I feel normal again.  So is the cheat meal really worth days of feeling bad?

Lunch was yet another land mine.  We had our monthly birthday lunch celebration and today’s theme was “Italian Feast“.   Yikes!  I will never complain about free food, but these situations definitely make it more difficult to make good choices.  I did OK though… choosing a big helping of salad, plus a small serving of pasta with as little cheese as possible.  I did have a few bites of the dessert also – cutting off a small chunk of each one (3 total).  Here’s the spread…

 

So what do you think?  Is the cheat meal worth it?  And if so, how do you deal with the day after?

Leave a Reply

