Ruby Tuesday Rocks

 

Yes, I gotta give props to RT.  They’ve come a long, long way from a menu built around burgers and nothing but starchy side dishes.  They have another menu coming soon (currently testing in my area) and is sure to please all the vegetarians and healthy-eaters out there. 

First though, I was thrilled to see one of my blog-comments featured on the Shape.com site!  (Click on the picture.)  I check out this blog at least once a week, as it is written Cynthia Sass, author of Cinch!, and she always offers some good, insightful advice.  This particular blog was about being “Duped by Healthy Restaurant Meals”, something I stress about often, and ironically the theme of today’s blog!

 

Now back to Ruby Tuesday…  they were one of the pioneers in putting nutritional information on the menu, something that did not go over well a decade ago, but will soon be required for all restaurant companies with more than 15 restaurants.  With RT’s re-branding initiative that began in 2006, they’ve also been busy upgrading the menu, which includes a lot of new healthy options.  Don’t get me wrong, a large majority of the menu is still full of high-calorie dishes (i.e. delicious), but unlike many restaurants, I never have a problem finding healthy options and don’t have to eat the same thing every time!  The menu actually highlights the “Fit & Trim” selections, which means that they are under 700 calories.  Personally, 700 calories is twice what I need for 1 of my 4 mini-meals, so if I choose one of these options, I just eat half and save the rest for later.  But you can still customize a lot of the other stuff by removing the butter, sauce, and cheese.  

Here are a few suggestions, some of which will be featured in the new April menu:

  • Garden Bar.  Fill up with all the veggies you can eat, but steer clear of the cheese, bacon, prepared salads, and most salad dressings.  Go with the Balsamic Vinaigrette or Light Ranch and NO CROUTONS!  Those things are double-fried!
  • Soup.  White Bean Chicken Chili is my favorite and the healthiest choice, and at 230 calories per bowl, there’s still room for a light salad.
  • Side Dishes.  As someone that eats a mostly vegetarian diet, I LOVE our new side dish selections!  My favorites are the grilled zucchini, sweet potato fries, spaghetti squash, and sliced tomatoes.  Warning – the Mac & Cheese is fabulous… and 570 calories!

  • Petite Plates.  I was very excited when we first started offering these smaller versions of our regular entrees.  Sometimes eating half and taking the rest home is just not an option!  They are intended for lunch, but you can order them all day.  Check out the new Zucchini Cake Petite Plate – my new favorite!
  • Grilled Fish or Chicken.  Most of the grilled fish or chicken options (and there are many to choose from) are a pretty safe bet if paired with healthy side dishes.  Just be sure and ask that it not be cooked or prepared with any butter or creamy sauces, depending on which one you choose.
  • Zucchini Cakes.  These tasty newbies will replace our traditional veggie minis and have been a huge hit in test restaurants.  They are also my new favorite!  You can get them in a Petite Plate (as listed above) with 2 sides, or as mini sandwiches with 1 side.  Just be sure you tell them to cook it “dry” (no butter) and if you get the minis, tell them no mayo and no butter on the buns.

Below is the full Ruby Tuesday nutritional guide (click on the picture), but this does not include any new items.  There is also a “Smart Eating” section, which features items that are available to order, but not given any space on the actual menu (space is limited to more popular / profitable items):

6 thoughts on “Ruby Tuesday Rocks

  1. I just had the spaghetti squash entree at Ruby Tuesdays. It was awesome!!! My only problem is that I can’t find nutrition values on it anywhere! It’s not even on their website. I do weight watchers and wanted to count my points but have to pretty much guess. Anybody know how many points are in it?!

    • Hi. Thanks for the comment. I will get the nutritionals for you. The reason its not online yet is because its a test item.

  2. Good morning, Darcie. As promised, here are your nutritionals, which will be posted on the RT Website by 4/5 (when it officially rolls out to all restaurants):

    Spaghetti Squash Marinara (Regular) – 406 calories / 21g fat / 38 net carbs / 12g protein

    Spaghetti Squash Marinara (Petite Plate) – 265 calories / 13g fat / 22 net carbs / 5g protein

  3. I’m watching my carb intake and I was wondering if anyone has the nutritional value of the zucchini cakes without the buns.

    • Hello again. Here is the information you requested. The zucchini cakes are made with a breading, but are still not very high in net carbs (29). I try to keep my carbs under about 125 per day, so if paired with a couple of veggies, this would still make a nice low-carb meal. Enjoy!

      Menu Item Cals Fat (g) Total Carbs (g) Fiber (g) Protein Sodium (mg)
      Zucchini Cakes (2) 233 10 31 2 5 986

Leave a Reply

