Another Monday and Feeling Great!

Normally I hate Mondays – I can’t seem to ever get ready on time and always manage to spill my breakfast in haste.  Alas, today did not start out much better.  I dumped a drink in my car (thankfully water) and was later to work than I had planned since I had an 8am meeting to prepare for.  I feel great, however, because I weighed in at 135!  Woohoo!  I only did a 3-day Detox this time around, since I need more calories for my beloved workouts, but that 3 days was all it took to get back on track and feel completely de-bloated.  It’s amazing how quickly you can lose the bloat, but also amazing how quickly you can put it back on with a couple of bad meals! 

So I plan to keep sticking to the basic Cinch methodology — 4 small evenly spaced meals using the 5 puzzle pieces (produce, whole grain, lean protein, plant-based fat, healthy seasonings) — but also incorporate some other meals from our P90X and Eat Clean Diet books.  Both have some good recipes in them that will work with my 4-meal strategy.  I made a quick menu yesterday afternoon and prepped my meals for the next few days.  I’m going to take a little more casual approach this time around and not obsess over a menu spreadsheet, but still share on my blog.  Here’s today’s plan, which adds up to about 1200 calories:

  • Pre-workout Snack (5am) – Grapes
  • Breakfast (7am) – 1 egg, cooked spinach, 1 slice toast with drizzle of honey
  • Lunch (11am) – Humbeque sandwich (tuna, hummus, bbq, spinach, avocado)
  • Snack (3pm) – Greek yogurt with berries and almonds
  • Dinner (7pm) – Chicken cordon bleu with cooked carrots

I did an amazing thing over the past week: I had 3 boxes of girl scout cookies (weak moment) plus Easter candy (another weak moment) in my pantry and did not touch them!!  Then at church they announced that they were going to be collecting food every Sunday for donation, so when I got home, I made a donation bag with the cookies and Easter candy, plus some other healthier options.   Later that night I had some serious temptations to break out the donation bag, but managed to overcome them.  It seems that these temptations were triggered by one bite of Red Velvet Cake Sundae that I had made for my husband.  Hence, I plan to skip the daily chocolate indulgence called for in the Cinch plan.  The slightest taste of sugar turns me into a ravenous cookie-monster.  I think it’s time to break out my favorite picture:

If Cookie Monster went on a diet...

 

Have a great Monday everyone!!

2 thoughts on “Another Monday and Feeling Great!

  1. I love the food addiction thought. I probably have it. I also laughed at all of your thoughts on it. They were not only “on the mark” but also amusing. I’ll keep trying to “break my addiction. :>)

    Did you play one of the pianos that said “Play Me”? You should have. I hope you will take time to play again. You were pretty good, you know.

    I love you, Mother

Leave a Reply

