Monday Monday

Happy Monday, world!  I had a bit of a breakdown over the weekend.  My in-laws gave me a big chocolate heart for Valentine’s Day, which I quickly inhaled.  It was great while it lasted, but then the usual guilt and bloat followed, plus I could not get through my 9-mile marathon training run on Sunday morning.  So here’s the reality… junk food tastes good for a few minutes, but feeling fit and happy lasts all day.  I am sooo fed up with feeling fat and skipping over half the pants and skirts in my closet to find ones that fit.  Being on Cinch has definitely made me more in tune with my body and my feelings and I’ve noticed a definite correlation between my overall happiness and my diet.  When I’m taking care of myself, I’m happier, my skin is clearer, and everything else just seems to fall into place.  When I’m not taking care of myself, I’m moody and get really down on myself.

If you read my blog, you know that I’ve been yo-yoing on Cinch since January.  I’m still down 6 pounds overall, but have had a few too many cheat days.  I think it’s finally time that I realize the sacrifice that must be made.  If I want to look and feel my best – I must quit eating crap except for the occasional splurge (i.e. once a month, not once a day).  If I can’t or won’t make that sacrifice, I must accept that this is as good as it gets.  Period. 

I must say that my husband’s determination has helped inspire me too.  He’s been doing P90X for about 8 weeks now and cutting out most junk food.  So far he’s down about 20 pounds and his overall mood is so much better.  Although he’s more meatitarian and I’m more pescetarian (mostly vegetarian but eats seafood), it’s very helpful to live with someone that is also dedicated to eating well.  I guess that’s why it’s so easy to get off track when I visit family… desserts-o-plenty. 

Soooo, I’m once again “starting over” this week.  I don’t plan to start the actual detox phase until this weekend because I’ve got a lot of [healthy] food in the house that needs to be eaten.  Here’s my meal plan for the next few days:

  • Breakfast (7am): Spinach & feta omelet, 1 slice toast
  • Snack (11am): Yogurt, berry, & almond parfait
  • Lunch (3pm): Coconut veggie medley with edamame, red cabbage, carrots, onions, peppers, and coconut. 
  • Dinner (7pm): Whole wheat pasta with spinach, tomato sauce, parmesan cheese

Now I’m off for a light workout in the great outdoors – it’s 70 degrees today!  Gotta take advantage of this freak February weather.

4 thoughts on “Monday Monday

  1. Hi, Rebecca,
    Your posts are so helpful because we always think everyone is gliding on this or any other diet so it’s really good to hear I’m not the only one who slipped. I was half way into the Core and then got side tracked so I am back on detox day 1. Anyway, thanks for being so honest about your experience.

  2. Hi Rebecca,
    Thanks for be so honest, I have sliipped this whole week and i have been mad at my slef. I am still down 6 lbs also so i guess i shoud happy. I will start the core again this weekend.
    Thanks for making me think i can do this.

  3. I am on day 4 of detox, my 2nd time around, and so far, I am down 6.5 lbs. I lost only 4 lbs total the 1st time.
    It feels great slipping into a pair of jeans that used to grab my thighs and made me feel like a sausage so it’s an excellent motivator to stay on the CINCH course.
    Also, I feel the physical changes more this time around, i.e., a flatter tummy, stronger hunger pangs and sooner than 3 hours after eating and feeling less full right after eating.
    I am wondering if anyone has had the same experience as I have on detox round #2.
    (Rebecca, thank you again for your excellent blog. I consider it a public service!)

    • Hi Faye! Oh yes, I definitely felt more in-tune with my body in the 2nd round of detox, and I’m curious how round 3 will go, which I plan to start at some point in the next couple of weeks after I clean out my fridge!

Leave a Reply

