Another Manic Monday

This week is going to be pretty hectic with 2 business trips, so this might be my only post.  But I’m determined to have a good week and then start on Cinch Phase 3 when I get back:

Today’s Meal Plan:

  • Breakfast (7:30 am): 1/2 cup yogurt with strawberries; small homemade oatmeal protein bar
  • Snack (11 am):  Strawberry Avocado Salad, 1/2 orange & few whole grain crackers
  • Lunch (3pm):  Edamame Ginger Stir Fry
  • Dinner (7pm):  1 cup homemade squash soup

Workout:  Weights & 3 mile jog

*****

So now let’s discuss the new recipes.  The first one I found in a local magazine in an article about aphrodisiac meals for Valentine’s Day – Strawberry Avocado Salad.  I love both strawberries and avocados, but would never have thought to use them in this combination.

Isn’t that the cutest dish?  Almost too pretty to eat!  It was very yummy too, although I won’t use any olive oil next time.  I think the olive oil flavor was a little too strong and also too much fat considering you’re eating 1/2 an avocado with each serving.  This recipe would definitely be Cinch-approved if you pair it with a whole grain.

Next I made one of the Cinch recipes – Edamame Ginger Stir Fry.  This dish was very colorful!  I decided not to use the vinegar because I just don’t like the flavor, and instead sautéed the veggies in a little coconut oil, ginger, and orange juice.  I also added a little bit of sea salt (gasp!) because the flavor was very bland.  The end result was edible, but not great.  It tasted too much like… well, diet food.  I think with some new flavorings, it has potential and I’d probably try it again, especially since I still have 2/3 of a red cabbage head left!  Any ideas about what I can use to season this without vinegar?

There is actually brown rice under there!

 

Off to my first business trip in Chicago… wish me luck staying on track!  I hear our lunch is going to be Chicago-style pizza, so I’ll try and stick to one slice.  I’ll also keep reminding myself that in less than 4 months I’ll be mostly-naked on a beach in front of millions of tourists in Hawaii.

Leave a Reply

