Beauty Sleep

I’m feeling much better today after finally getting a good night’s sleep.  I even braved the scale this morning and discovered that despite my ice cream “medicine” and limited workouts, I am still at 138 pounds.  I’ll set my new goal at 136 pounds for next Friday (2/18).

  • Breakfast (7:30 am): 1/2 cup chocolate chunk cherry granola (mmm, new flavor at Target) with 1/2 cup lowfat organic milk. 
  • Snack (11 am):  Apple with peanut butter and whole grain crackers
  • Lunch (3pm):  Salad with carrots and peppers, handful of dry-roasted edamame
  • Dinner (7pm): 1 cup homemade squash soup and 1/2 grilled cheese.

*****

Isn’t amazing how much sleep affects us?  I did not get any good sleep while I was sick because the congestion and dry-mouth kept me up all night.  I slept like a baby last night, and voila!  My family teases me about going to bed early and obsessing over my sleep, but there is a strong correlation between my sleep and my overall feeling and mood.  And contrary to my sibling’s beliefs, I don’t believe that going to bed after midnight and getting up at 9 am is as effective… at least not in our house.  By the time the sun comes up, the light, sounds, and other distractions in the house or neighborhood interrupt your deep sleep and the cycle is broken.  It’s very hard to get back to the therapeutic deep sleep after you’ve woken. 

Here’s an interesting link I found about this topic:  http://www.corporatewellnessmagazine.com/article-detail.php?issue=issue%2010&article=truth-about.

One thought on “Beauty Sleep

Leave a Reply

