Comparing Chocolate

Yep, you can eat chocolate on this diet.  At first, that tripped me up becuase I over-indulged, but I’m doing better this time around, maybe because I’m adhering to the golden rule of taking time to enjoy it.  The rules with your daily chocolate indulgence are:
  1. Golden Rule – you can have your chocolate any time during the day, but you must take time to truly enjoy your indulgence – don’t just scarf it down on the run.
  2. It must be a dark chocolate with a minimum of 70% Cacao.
  3. You can have up to 100 calories per day.

So which kinds of dark chocolate do you prefer?  I started out buying a bag of Dove Dark Chocolate Promises because I’d seen them referenced in either the Cinch book or Shape magazine book review, I can’t recall which, but then I discovered that they do not meet rule #2 of a minimum 70% dark (they are 63%).  Plus, after comparing them to a few other varieties, I found that they tasted very artificial in comparison.  More about this later…

Sooo, I set off to check out other options.  First, I checked the organics section at Kroger, and they had quite a selection, and all at a pretty hefty price tag of about $4 per bar.  After much debate, I selected a few different kinds of Endangered Species Chocolate bars – blueberry, raspberry almond, and mint.   There were several other brands, but I knew this one was pretty good because I’d tried the regular 72% dark in my first attempt at the Core phase (and devoured the whole bar in 2 days).  Plus, as a huge fan of turtles, it was very hard for me to get past the packaging…

Endangered Species 72% Dark Chocolate with Blueberries

 Next, I headed to the candy aisle to check out their selection.  They actually had a nice variety of gourmet chocolate bars from Godiva, Ghiradelli, Lindt, and more.  Once again, much debate ensued, and I decided to go with my old favorite – Godiva.  Afterall, I already have $12 in chocolate from my first stop, so let’s not go overboard.  Speaking of overboard – if you ate this entire bar, how many calories do you think that would set you back?  I bet you didn’t guess 600 calorie and 42 grams of fat!  Yep, to stay under the daily max of 100 calories, you can have 1 small square.  Yikes.  I’ve been majorly over-indulging for years!  Hence, I am here with you, blogging about my new nutrition adventure.

 

Naturally, a taste test is in order.  So I had 1 piece of each.  I expected to like the Dove chocolates best, but surprisingly, they were my least favorite and tasted a bit artificial when eaten right after the others.   The Endangered Species chocolate has great flavor, but is slightly chalky consistency.  I liked the Raspberry & Almond bar best.  Then I had the Godiva bar and it was definitely the best of the 3.  Great flavor, smooth consistency, and not too bitter like a lot of dark chocolate.

So the winner is GODIVA 70% DARK!  A couple people have recommended the Green Black brand, which I have seen but not tried, so I’ll get that next and see how it compares to my Godiva.

OK, so I’m going to go ahead and admit that I’ll be taking a day off from my diet today.  My office is having a culinary party and are taste-testing some new menu items for our new seafood restaurant called Marlin & Rays, which includes all of the desserts.  I think this is one of those experiences that should be enjoyed.  I have an 8-mile run scheduled for tomorrow, so I will no doubt burn it all off again and start fresh again.  More recipe testing and pictures coming this weekend.

11 thoughts on “Comparing Chocolate

  1. I LOOOOVE getting chocolate recommendations. My husband and I have been doing the SASS plan for about 2 weeks now. I’ve lost 10 and he’s lost 12. We’ve started modifying for taste and preference, and it’s worked for us very well.

    As far as chocolate, I love the truffle recipes in the SASS book, and my favorite by far is adding cinnamon and chipotle powder, to add that extra kick. We are from the South and love and miss our cheese and butter, believe me, and chocolate has really saved me more than once. Thank you for the recommendations!!

    • Thanks Jane. I’m in the South too (TN) and can relate to missing the fried foods! I love cheese too, so thankfully this diet has plenty of that built in, mostly in the form of ricotta or cottage cheese. I plan to try making the truffles but do NOT like the mix of chocolate and citrus. I’ll have to try the cinammon & chipoltle one. Thanks for the review!

  2. The chocolate recipe with tangerine zest is really delicious and SO simple to make.
    On a side note, what should the average weight loss be? I’ve been on the core for 1 week and I’ve gained back 2 lbs of the 4 I lost from the detox (!).
    Also is there a certain time you should eat the snack?

    • Hi Faye. Not sure why you’d gain back 2 of the pounds except that you’re eating again and thus adding back some of the water weight and waste that you previously cleaned out. Sounds pretty normal. However I don’t expect to lose more than 1 pound per week afterwards. I stayed flat this week and hope to lose 1 pound by next Friday. Weight loss is unfortunatley a slow process after the initial few pounds.

  3. I’ve been eating Trader Joe’s 100 cal. 70% dark chocolate bar, but my friend told me about Lindt’s dark chocolate with chili pepper!! I thought it sounded weird and I don’t really like spicy stuff so I was leery, but it was good! It has a slight “pop rocks” sort of feel at the end 🙂

    Here’s a link:

    http://www.lindtusa.com/product-exec/product_id/65/category_id/7/nm/Excellence_Chili_Bar

    I’ve been doing pretty well on the diet, I’ve fallen off a few times because I haven’t taken the time to prep ahead…that really IS the key! I’ll try to better next week and I plan to get back in the gym as well. I was jog/walking 6 miles a day a few months back, now I have to work my way back up there. 🙂

  4. Rebecca,
    First I wanted to say thanks for all the work you put into your posts, it really does help seeing photos and other options. I really do appreciate it! (as I am sure others do as well). I am on day 18 and I am down 14lbs so far! I tend to get migraines (although I have not had any since I have started this “diet”) and one of my trigger foods is chocolate so I don’t eat it. I did buy the Ghirardelli dark chocolate and I am going to try it and see how I do. I did also have a question about the fruity waffle sundae any ideas for what to sub for the ricotta? I tried it this a.m., I am a big texture person and not really a fan of how that tasted. Any suggestions?
    Thanks again for all your hard work!
    Christy

  5. Hi Rebecca,

    Just wanted to comment on some of the comments I’ve been reading from you blogs. I too lost 6.5 lbs on detox and have been diligent on core with no further weight loss this week. I will say I do feel good, I’m not hungry and I enjoy eating these foods so I plan on sticking with it because I do believe that the first week is a lot of water weight and it takes our body a little while to catch up with that.

    Thanks again for all the info you provide!!

    Susan

  6. Hello!

    I read your blog every day. (Thinking I might have saw a link to it on Cynthia’s FB page…) I’m also blogging about my experience, but I’m using Blog Spot instead of Word Press. Wish I could directly save your link on my page, but alas, I just type in Rocky Top Rebecca everyday! lol

    Anyways, another vote for the Trader Joe’s 70% 100 calorie dark chocolate bars. I LOVE THEM!

    Cheers~
    Stephanie

    Enjoy your party!

Leave a Reply

