Cinch Core, Days 1 & 2

Weekend Workouts:  7 mile jog / walk + a few stregnth exercises (Saturday); P90x leg / back video (Sunday)

Just like Detox, the second time around is much easier.  However, I feel like I’m constantly watching the clock, wondering when it’s time to eat again.  Weekends are especially tough because my schedule is so much later.  During the week, it’s pretty easy to stick to a 7am / 11am / 3pm / 7pm schedule, because my work day is very structured.  Weekends, however, start later and often have a flurry of activity during the day that doesn’t allow for a home-cooked meal.  This is where healthy subs and learning how to make the right choices at restaurants will come in handy.  So now let’s discuss the food! 

We had the Fruity Waffle Sundaes for breakfast both days, one of my favorites so far!  I made them as directed in the Shape Magazine, except the first day I subbed a big spoonful of no-sugar-added Comstock cherries for the dried version, and pistachios for pumpkin seeds.  I’m pretty sure Cynthia would not recommend these cherries for her recipes since they’re loaded with artificial sweeteners, but they are delicious, and I had a 1/2 can in my fridge that needed to be used.  On Day 2, I used the dried cranberries, as listed in the book.  My husband’s larger version (2 waffles instead of 1) is shown below.  Also, I finally found fruit-juice sweetened cranberries on Amazon, and they are DELICIOUS!!  Click on the cranberry picture below to see them on Amazon.

Fruity Waffle Sundae (man-size with 2 waffles)

 

For snack, we had the Parmesan Popcorn with Cranberries, with a few alterations.  I chose to use Smart Pop Kettle Korn instead of making my own, and used a drizzle of coconut oil instead of sunflower.  On day 1 we paired it with dried cranberries and on day 2 we had fresh grapes.  Also, the parmesan cheese seemed like an odd combo with the coconut popcorn, so we instead had a Laughing Cow cheese wedge (35 calories each), which I had bought for the Sonoma Snack later this week.  I chose the Queso Fresco Chipoltle variety.  YUM!! 

Do you like coconut oil?  I discovered it about a year ago and have been using it in place of butter and other oils ever since, but only recently discovered the Nutiva brand, which is hands down the best I’ve tried.  First off, I discovered in the Cinch book that there is a big difference in processing between regular coconut oil (like I found in the baking aisle of my grocery store) and Virgin coconut oil, which is cold-pressed and not mechanically processed, similar to the process for producing olive oil.  The taste difference is also a huge factor.  The other brands I’ve tried are basically tasteless, but the Nutiva has a slight smell and taste of coconut, which I LOVE!  Click on the coconut oil below for a link to see on Amazon.

Popcorn Snack ingredients

Popcorn Snack (for 2 people)

I subbed the 3rd meal for a Black Bean & Mango Salad (see recipes page) so I could use up some leftover items in my fridge.  Once again, it provides all of the puzzle pieces.  Black beans provide both complex carbs (in place of whole grains), plus protein and fiber, then the mango, peppers, onion, and jalapeno provide the produce, and a little olive oil is the plant-based fat.  It’s one of my very favorite recipes – check it out on my Favorite Recipes page!

The last meal of the day is the Avocado Tostadas, which were really good and tasted very fresh.  However, as depicted below, the 1-cup of lettuce basically took over the plate!  I ended up folding them like tacos, forcing the gob of lettuce inside.  I also made my husband his own version, adding some chicken and basically leaving off all the veggies (he’s a self-proclaimed “meatitarian”), but he did eat a salad (loaded with cheese, bacon, and ranch).  Anyway, back to my dinner… has anyone else struggle to find decent tomatoes this time of year?  I recently discovered Campari tomatoes at my local Kroger (see below / click picture for more info), and they’re worth the extra money.  Lime was also a big hit in this dish.  I added some to the avocado and then also squeezed some more on the finished tostadas. 

Avocado Tostadas

Campari tomatoes (click on picture)

All of the recipes this weekend were very, very, good…. but small.  It’s going to take some time to adjust to the smaller meals.  Don’t get me wrong, I was full once my food digested, but after a lifetime of infrequent, huge meals, it just felt like I needed more food.  It was nice, however, not to have that too-full, bloated feeling. 

I spent about an hour this morning prepping food for the next 3 days.  My fridge is full and beautiful!  Enjoy your Sunday!  I’m off to the grocery for a few forgotten ingredients…

10 thoughts on “Cinch Core, Days 1 & 2

  1. Hi Rebecca,

    Just wanted to let you know I really appreciate your food reviews complete with photo’s, substitutions, and even links to purchase! Your the best. I’m on day 1 of core, lost 6.5lbs on detox and feel less bloated and I’ve turned off my sweet tooth. Which brings me to my next question, are you indulging in the daily chocolate treat? I’m a little nervous it will trigger a “binge” lol. Would love to hear your thoughts.

    btw made the walnut apple crisp for breakfast today… and it was delicious.

    Susan

    • Hi Susan. Yes, I am, although you’re right… I haven’t mentioned it. I had issues with over-indulging in the chocolate in my first attempt, but this second round has been easier. I’m actually going to post an entire blog entry discussing chocolate later this week and compare a few different types that I have tried. My suggestion would be to get your serving of chocolate, put the rest away, and then move somewhere else to enjoy it. If I eat it starding there next to more chocolate, I’m much more apt to cheat. Just like my pantry and fridge, I clean out the junk and don’t allow myself the opportunities to cheat! I feel so good going into the week! Still loving the journey…

  2. You are turly the BEST Rebecca,

    Thanks for making this easier, I could not find the Cranberries sweeten with fruit juice and now I have got it thanks to you. I have never had coconut oil and i did not witch one to buy, but now I do. It’s day 13 on Cinch and I am still doing good.
    Kassech

  3. You are brave to build your own meals! I’m too afraid right now. I will substitute one fruit for another or walnuts for almonds or something, but haven’t gotten into building my own. I’m still enjoying the recipes in the book anyway. Scale is still not budging since detox and I’m on day 10 of Core! I’ve told myself that perhaps some water weight came back and FAT got lost and it evened out. Also, I tend to go with a 2 week cycle….not much lost week 1 and week 2 is a bit more dramatic. I FEEL much better! I started exercise today. So, I’m hoping it all kicks in and I’ll see movement on the scale by Friday! I’m not weighing myself til then!

    • Hi Lisa! Go by the way your clothes and body feel, rather than just the scale. I’m not sure how much you have to lose, but for me it’s just 10-vanity-pounds at this point, so the weight loss will be very sloooow, and I’m OK with that if I keep feeling this good. I don’t even feel like I’m dieting! Take care!

  4. Hi Rebecca. Just read your blog and you have lots of great tips. I have a blog on my progress on cinch as well. http://cinchbylaura.wordpress.com/

    I’m a vegetarian with a meatatarian husband too! Seems like you are really working out a lot. I’ve been on core for a week now. It gets easier and the puzzle is starting to become 2nd nature. I’ll keep checking up on your progress! Good luck.

    • Hi Laura. Thanks for checking in! I just looked over your blog and we seem pretty similar. I’ll definitely be following you too! It’s getting easier with time, and yes, I love to workout. It’s a great break from work and I love the high I get when I’m done. Plus, it helps make up for my ocassional over-indulgence. Although I’ve not had much success dropping my 10 vanity-pounds in the last 10 years, I’ve also not gained any weight despite my somtimes horrendous eating habits, so at least I can be grateful for that! =) I’m not 100% vegetarian as I do have seafood a couple times a week, but I gave up all other meats about a year ago and haven’t missed it one bit!

      • I’ve been a vegetarian for about 12 years and have struggled to find healthy recipes so I LOVE this book. I’ve slowly gained weight since the wedding 4 yrs ago and have more than 10 vanity pounds to lose but I’m excited because I feel like this is easy to do. I also love the fruity waffle too!

      • That was a big reason I loved this book also – tons of good vegetarian dishes, and most of the others are easily converted. =)

Leave a Reply

