Cinch Detox Do Over, Day 3

I think I’ll have to come up with new post titles after detox is over… I’m getting a little tired of the word “cinch”!  Ha ha.  I’m on day 3 and it’s flying by.  So far it’s been much easier this time around, probably because I knew what to do and prepped everything in advance.  Plus, I’ve been so busy at work that I didn’t have time to think the diet.  It’s so nice not to worry about food each day – just grab and go.

After researching a reader’s question, I discovered that Cynthia Sass has a website and it includes a Cinch Q&A.  Of course, I’ll continue to answer your questions on my blog, but I thought I’d throw that out there as an expert reference.  I actually enjoy your questions and tend to learn something each time.

Oh my… I’m eating the parfait and it is sooooooo good.  Even the fruit has tasted amazing this week – probably because I decided to add a little Truvia and it’s made a huge difference.  I’m sure the Light ‘n Fit yogurt (which contains Splenda / sucralose) helped with the Parfait, but even the plain fruit and smoothie (made with greek yogurt) tastes so much better with a little shake of Truvia.  Have you guys tried this yet?  It’s a natural plant-based sweetener derived from the Stevia plant and can be found near the sugar in your grocery store.  It’s kind of expensive (about $7 for a small canister like the one shown below), but it lasts a long time.  It’s actually much stronger than sugar, so you can just use a little bit and be satisfied.  The book discourages the use of artificial sweeteners because Cynthia believes they can induce sugar cravings.  I do not find that to be the case for me, but everyone should do what works best for them.   I actually think they curb my cravings because I feel like I’m splurging when I eat it!

Lastly, so many of you send me messages thanking me for the blog and the inspiration, but actually, you are the ones that inspire me!  Every morning I see your comments, questions, and compliments, and it just encourages me to push through another day.  This is not a diet, it’s a lifestyle change!  No, we’re not going to be reading the book and copying the recipes forever, but after couple of months, our metabolisms should be improved, our palates accustomed to the taste of real food, and our cooking and eating habits transformed.  You’ll learn how to make meals with the puzzle pieces – 1) produce, 2) lean protein, 3) whole grain, 4) plant-based fat (nuts, avocado, olive / veg / coconut oil), and 5) healthy seasonings.  Hopefully you’re also trying to incorporate a little exercise into your day after Detox is over.  Cynthia is a big fan of walking!  This time of year can make that challenging, but there are lots of other indoor activities, or just find a good workout DVD and use your living room.  Please note that she does not recommend heavy exercise during Detox because of the limited calories.  If you do exercise or need a calorie boost, add an egg or serving of yogurt with breakfast.

Have a great day! 

9 thoughts on “Cinch Detox Do Over, Day 3

  1. Hi Rebecca, first, thank you for still taking our questions. You look beautiful. I am starting today and wondered about crystal light in the water and sugarless gum? Probably not allowed on the cleanse?
    I like the truvia too! Anything is better than what I have been doing!!! So it’s all good.

    • Hi! Since the book discourages the use of artificial sweeteners, Crystal Light and Sugarless Gum were not mentioned. However, I am more lenient on the artificial sweetener rule since I do not find that it causes cravings, so I think as long as you don’t overdo it, you’d probably be OK with a couple of glasses or pieces of gum.

  2. Hey, I found your blog while I was doing a google search for the 5 day detox. I’m just looking for other people going through it! I’m on day 3 and so far so good! Scale says I’m down 5lbs already! I’m honestly just scared after the detox to eat “normally” again. I don’t want to gain the weight back. BUT I’m also an avid excersizer and I’m not excersizing that much during this detox so I’m hoping when I start eating other food and excersizing it will even out. Sorry I’m rambling but thanks for writing about your journey! -Crystal

    • Great, keep going! Many of us agree that the transition to the next phase can be tricky, but there are lots of great tips and tools on the blog, so stay tuned and good luck!

  3. Hi Rebecca,

    Just thought I would share…. due to inclement weather I was unable to go to the store for the past few days, and was out of Raspberries for my 2nd meal today. I was not about to give up and I found of canned no sugar added pineapple in the cupboard and substituted a 1/2 cup which is 70 cals and equal to the amount in one cup of raspberries. For two days I’ve been choking down the parfait, just not tasty and I don’t have truvia in the house, (though I think I will def. pick this up).

    Let me just say it was delicious and after the detox is over I can’t wait to have that again as a meal choice.

    Thanks again for all your words of wisdom

    Susabella (btw my real name is Susan, but there are quite a few Susan’s on here so I thought I would stick with Susabella)!

  4. OK. I started the Cinch detox today. Ugh! I am STARVING. I am craving SWEETS. How am I going to last a WHOLE week??? I must have done something wrong today!

    • Hi! I don’t think that’s so unusual in the first day or two, especially if you’re used to eating a lot more calories. Question – are you working out, and thus depleting your limited calorie supply? If so, you’ll need to add an egg or serving of yogurt to breakfast or lunch. Also, be sure you’re measuring and eating your full meals during fast forward. The author also talks in her book about the difference between real hunger and perceived hunger. I think I tend to think I’m hungry because I like to eat! Good luck!!

  5. Thanks, Rebecca! I have been working out, so I will add an egg or yogurt. Quick question. Can we have the fat free frozen plain yogurt??? I was thinking that this would be a good treat…

    • Not in the Fast Forward phase. Most yogurts (including frozen) are loaded with sugar, so you’ll need to read the label. There’s actually a couple of recipes in the “core” phase for frozen yogurt, although I think a store-bought low-sugar / low-fat version would probably be OK.

Leave a Reply

