Cinch Day 8 & Weekly Weigh-In

Good morning!  First of all, I succeeded at not splurging at our office party last night!!!  Thankfully they had some healthy options, so I was able to eat and feel satisfied.  I chose the salad with a tiny drizzle of Italian dressing, big scoop of mixed veggies, small piece of salmon, and a few berries.  Here I am feeling fabulously fitter, with my husband, Bill.

 

*****

Starting Weight:   144 pounds  (December 28, 2010)

Current Weight:   136 pounds  (January 8, 2011)

Total Loss:   8 pounds

Next Week’s Goal:   134 pounds (January 15, 2011)

I’m up a pound since coming off Detox, but I’m not concerned.  First, it’s normal to expect that you’ll gain a bit after adding some calories back to your diet (the extra pound is just food that’s being processed in your body, not fat), and I also just started my, um, monthly visitor.  My goal is 2 pounds for next week, and then I’ll stick to 1-pound a week after that.  For those that are in a similar weight range as me and don’t have a lot to lose, keep in mind that weight loss after detox will be slower, about 1 pound per week.  OK, so let’s move on to Day 8…

 

Today’s Meal Plan:

Meal Plan Time
Blackberry smoothie w/ almond toast  7am
Apple, crackers and small salad 11am
Kashi Tuscan Veggie Bake 3pm
Cheese & quinoa stuffed peppers  7pm

Today’s Workout:  5 or 6 mile run in the park  (I’m training for a 1/2 marathon in March)

I’m not doing very well this week at sticking to the book’s recipes.  I didn’t buy enough ingredients at the grocery store and haven’t had a lot of time to fix them.  I suppose I don’t have much excuse since I don’t have kids to take care of, but I’ll stock up this weekend and do better at food prep on Sunday to help me get through the week.  In the meantime, I tried to sub out items that included every food group (veggie, fruit, whole grain, protein) and was within the 300-400 calorie range. 

Breakfast was the blackberry smoothie and almond toast (the book calls for blueberry, but you can use any berry). Perhaps if I wasn’t using old freezer-burned blackberries, it would have been tastier, but I ended up adding a little agave nectar and 1/2 scoop of protein powder to make it more palatable.  The toast was really good.  I would never have thought of that for breakfast!

 

Lunch was Kashi’s Tuscan Veggie Bake, a tangerine, and a few almonds.  The entree was pretty good, although not as good as their Mayan Harvest, which I did a review on a while back.  The major downside to frozen lunches, even so-called healthy ones, is the salt.  This one has 29% of my daily value of salt!  But compared to a fast-food or vending-machine lunch, it’s a much better option when you’re in a hurry. 

6 thoughts on “Cinch Day 8 & Weekly Weigh-In

  1. I just finished reading your blogs for the last 8 days! very inspiring! I am going to hit up a book store this week and see if it might work for me.

    Unfortunately I have celiacs and cannot eat any gluten so Its always a pain trying to substitute gluten free food for regular food as the calories in gluten free food seem to be much higher.

    I will check it out this weekend though and see if its something I can do… I am absolutely doing the 5 day clense though starting Monday but not completely sold on the whole book yet, we will see.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    Ashley

    • You’re sweet! You could definitely do the detox phase without gluten, and I’m pretty sure there are some recipes in the other 25 days that are celiac-friendly also. I think after you read the book it will make more sense. You don’t necessarily have to follow the recipes exactly, the key is eating the 4 small meals a day. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Thanks so much for posting this blog! It has been very helpful for someone doing this diet. I love the book and finished the detox on Friday, but since starting the regular diet, I have gained back .5 lb already (i know its not THAT much) but was getting nervous that the scale started going back up. Thanks for posting this is normal!

    • Yes, it’s totally normal. If you think about it, the detox did what it was supposed to – it cleaned out your body of all the junk you don’t want in there, so when you start eating more foods, you add some of that back. But now you’re starting fresh in the new phase and should see continued weight loss. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

