Cinch Day 1 – 5 Day “Fast Forward” Phase

Day 1 is in the books! 

I’m glad I was off work and planned to spend New Years Eve at home with my husband, because the grocery shopping, recipe study, and food-prep was more time-consuming than I expected.  I suggest starting on a weekend!  My husband thinks I’ve gone crazy, ha ha ha, but I’m having fun.  Of course, I also spent some extra time taking pictures and working on my blog so I could share my experience with everyone, but it was worth it for the motivation factor.  Apparently it’s working too because my sister has agreed to join in!  Good luck, Liz!

I consider myself somewhat of an expert at the grocery store and know very well how to dissect a food label, so I was surprised to find that it was a little challenging to find acceptable forms of my 5 ingredients.  Here’s what I found…

  • 15 cups of raw spinach, approximately 2 large 10-oz bags.  

  • 20 cups of raspberries, about 8 frozen 10-oz bags.  Cascadian Farms is the only one I found that didn’t included added sugars and is found in the Organic or Health Food section.  I tried to get the significantly cheaper regular variety in the frozen foods section, but they included “liquid sugar”.  Be careful and check your labels!  I also considered fresh, but 10 pints at $3.99 each would have been quite costly!

  • 2 cups of sliced almonds.  At first, I purchased a bag of bulk almonds from the produce section and chopped them up in my food processor, but then discovered that you can also buy the sliced almonds in bulk (for cheaper!) in the Organic section at Kroger.  But if they don’t have any bulk at your grocery store, you can also find bags in the Baking aisle. 

  • 10 Tablespoons of natural RAW almond butter, about 1/3 of a 16-oz jar.  After realizing the the organic product I had at home had added sugars and oils, I tossed it, then had to look at almost every jar in the organic section before picking MaraNatha All Natural RAW Almond Butter.  When in doubt, read the ingredient label and be sure all that it includes is “raw almonds”… no oils or sugars.

  •  60 ounces of non-fat PLAIN yogurt. , 2 of the 32-oz tubs.  I decided to try 2 different kinds to see which one I preferred.  The Stonyfield Farms product was almost twice the cost, but organic.  Be sure to get the non-fat, plain variety.  0% greek yogurt is OK too, but I think it’s a little too bitter since I can’t use any sweeteners for the Detox phase… I normally add fruit, agave or honey to sweeten it.

 

  • 10 large eggs.  There are different sizes and types, but I like Eggland’s Best LARGE eggs.  Careful not to get extra large!  You’ll also want to boil 5 of them when you get home so they’re ready for your dinners.  You can store un-peeled hard boiled eggs in the fridge for about a week.

  • 4-5 tangerines (for flavor & salad dressing)
  • Seasonings  – herbs (salt-free) cinnamon and nutmeg (plain, without sugar), balsamic vinegar.  NO SALT!

 

MEALS

  • Meal 1  (9:30 am) – scrambled egg with spinach; raspberries and almonds.  2 cups water.

The egg & spinach combo was a little bland and the spinach flavor really stood out, so I had to add some pepper.  NO SALT!!  Overall, not bad.  I might try some adding spice tomorrow.  The raspberries and almonds were very yummy.

 

  • Meal 2  (1:00 pm) – yogurt parfait with raspberries and almonds.  2 cups water.

This was delicious and tasted like dessert!  I sprinkled a little cinnamon and nutmeg on each yogurt layer and that really spiced it up.  I might also add a few sprigs of mint next time (I grow mint in my kitchen).

 

  • Meal 3  (5:00 pm) – spinach salad with raspberries, almonds, boiled egg, homemade tangerine balsamic vinaigrette .  2 cups water.

This meal was my least favorite of the day, primarily because I’m not much of a salad fan, and do not care for a strong vinegar flavor.  I think tomorrow I’ll omit the vinegar, and blend the fresh-squeezed tangerine juice and raspberries for the dressing.  I thought the egg might taste strange with the fruit, but actually it was a good combo.

 

 

  • Meal 4 (9:00 pm) – smoothie with yogurt, raspberries, almond butter, ice.  2 cups water.

The smoothie was great – kind of like a fruity milkshake to finish out the day.  I had to add a little bit of water to help it blend, and also added a sprinkle of cinnamon and sprig of mint.  For those that are used to a super-sweet smoothie (my husband played guinea pig), you might find this a bit sour or bitter due to the plain yogurt and raspberries.  I’m not sure what to suggest other than give it time for your taste buds to adjust.  By the end of 5 days, you are supposed to have a new appreciation for natural flavors.

Summary… surprisingly, I did not feel very hungry between meals and the meals were pretty good.  Not a cheeseburger and chocolate, but tasty without the guilt!  Looking forward to Day 2… 

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

82 thoughts on “Cinch Day 1 – 5 Day “Fast Forward” Phase

  1. Congrats on your first day. I’m starting today. The only problem I found is that I did also purchase the frozen strawberries. I was able to purchase Publix brand as the only ingredient was raspberries but they don’t look ANYTHING like yours. Mine looked very mushy and had a funny taste.

    I’m not sure what I’m going to do I think I’ve seen that brand at my store that you are showing do they taste like fresh raspberries?

    I’m going to have to take mine back there is no way I can stomach 5 days of these raspberries and they should be the best part of the meals!

    • Hi. I purchased 1 small pint of fresh raspberries for comaparison, and those are shown in the first picture with breakfast, and also a few on the salad, but the rest are all frozen (thawed) berries. They do taste a little different, more bitter I think, but the cost of 20 cups of fresh berries was just too much. I’ve read that you can sub frozen strawberries too if you can’t stomach it.

      Good luck!

  2. Good job, Rebecca! We must be twins – I’m staring at 140 and would love to get to 125 as well, although I suspect 130 may be more realistic. Either way though, I’ll take it!

    This is a great post and it’s so nice you included the photos. I finished the 5-day yesterday and lost 3.5 lb total – not the 7 in the book, but it motivated me to stick with it.

    I ate strawberries rather than raspberries as well, as I don’t like raspberries.

    The first day of the 5, I thought the plain yogurt was AW.FUL. I did get used to it though 🙂 I liked garlic and pepper to season the scramble.

    Keep posting!

  3. Hi there, I was just doing some reserch on “Fast Forward Juice” and I came across your blog! What a great blog!! I loved it! Goodluck to you and your sister!

    I am wondering… where did you purchase it? I am in Canada and I would love to go and pick one up at a store rather then order online through ebay. Any ideas?

    • Hi. Thanks! I’m fairly new at this, but it’s been pretty fun and definitely helps keep me motivated. I got the book on Amazon.com, but it should be available in most book stores. It was just released last week, but has bee a big seller so I imagine it should be at your local bookstore or even the library. Good luck to you as well!

  4. Pingback: Cinch! 5-day Detox Recap « Rocky Top Rebecca

    • Hi Lucy. The book recommended a mix of 2 Tbs balsamic vinegar and 1 Tbs tangerine or orange juice per serving. I actually used 2 Tbs of fresh-squeezed tangerine juice and it was pretty good. Although I ate the egg separately after the first day because it soaked up the juice and was kind of odd. Good luck!!

  5. Hi Rebecca,
    I am glad that someone is putting this book to the test. I am a registered dietitian so I appreciate that the author is one as well. Looking forward to reading and following your results.

    BTW, my vet has warned me against feeding nuts to dogs (almond butter). It can be toxic. But they can have peanuts since they are not tree nuts.

    • Oh my gosh, thanks for the note about the almond butter! Yikes! Thankfully it was only a few tablespoons, but I’ll definitely remember that. I’ll keep posting about Cinch!

    • Yes, you use the same recipes all five days. You can mix and match the meals as long as you eat them 4 times, 3 to 5 hours apart. As for the recipes, they are only available in the book and there’s a lot of other good info in the book also, so I think it’s well worth the $15! (amazon.com) I have been tempted to share the recipes, but that seems a little unfair to the author and I know she’s seen my blog! However, I gave the total grocery list in a previous blog and if you divide that out by 5 days, I’m sure you can figure it out. =)

    • 9 pounds in the first week. Keep in mind that most of the initial weight loss is water and waste, but you feel leaner because you lose the bloat. After that, you’re working to burn fat, which is usually 1-2 pounds per week. Hope that helps!

  6. I saw this on Rachael Ray today, and thought “5 day fast forward is for me!”
    I’ve spent the last 45 minutes reading your blog, making my grocery list, etc. Thanks for the helpful tips! We’re about the same size, and after having my 3rd baby (FOUR years ago!) I’m just so ready to fit into the clothes that have been in my closet mocking me!
    One question: is Diet Coke a no-no during the fast forward phase? I’m kind of addicted.

    • Hi Tracy. Unfortunately yes, sodas & diet sodas are not allowed. There’s a whole section about this in the book and why they’re not good for you despite being zero calories. However, a cup of coffee with 1 cream (no sugar) is allowed, so I’m sure 1 Diet Coke a day wouldn’t hurt either. I hope that helps!

  7. I started it today! I am so pleasantly surprised at how yummy the 5 day FF are. I came across your blog b/c I bought the Kindle version, and am seeking to find the log pages to print off to track meals, thoughts, etc. that are in the book. I really like the Zesty Cinnamon Basil tea recipe. I was so ready for this – I ate it all and drank it all last month…wanted to hibernate like a momma bear and just wake up in the spring! I am not weighing. Just going by clothing. I’m 5’6”, very muscular and probably about 155 and when I DO weigh in the spring, I hope to be around 135. You’re food looks very nice plated. 🙂

      • Thanks Rebecca! I heard from Cynthia Sass, and she is inquiring w her book editor. In the mean time, I took screenshots of the tracking pages on my iPad and emailed them to me to print. Saw your weigh in pic ~ you look fantastic!!! I swear my tummy looks flatter today on day 2…I woke up ravenous and had breakfast; huge positive for me since I usually don’t eat until carpool…bad habit! Recipe addition: I added some grapefruit zest and a spritz of lemon juice & cinnamon to the berries/almonds…yum!

  8. i bought all the stuff but how do you mix it and you list 2 cups of water with every meal..do you drink that or use it to cook?

    • Hi. The recipes can be found in the book, or you can probably figure it out based on my prevoius blogs (starting yesterday and working back). You have 2 cups of water with each meal, or 8 cups throughout the day, whatever works for you. Best of luck! It works!

  9. Hi Rebecca,
    Love your blog.
    I also saw the fast forward diet on the Rachel Ray show. They had mentioned that you could eat as much as you want of the 5 mentioned ingrediants as long as you stay within those 5 ingredients. Are the portions limited? That’s what it looks like on your blog. Example, is there a restricted number of eggs you can eat per day? How much yogurt per day and how about raspberries?

    Rosanna

    • Hi Rosanne. I’m not sure why they’d say you can have as much as you want because that’s definitley not the case. You have a certain amount at each meal based on the book’s recipes. But not to worry, despite being limited on how much you can eat, I rarely felt hungry.

      • Rosanne-RR was where I saw it too, and they did allude to being able to have as much of the 5 as u wanted… Watched pretty thoroughly a few times, but didn’t save it. So far ~ on day 2 ~ so good. Good luck! I love Rebecca’s blog too and happy to have found it!

  10. Day1 for me-
    Breaking the rules already! I am obese and I figures my body would go into shock if I dropped too low in calories…so I added two roasted mushrooms, a hadnful of roasted onion, and two cloves roasted garlic to my omelet. Tasty with pepper…highly recommend roasting the veggies to get a little extra flavor! Thanks for posting thiss blog…very encouraging!

  11. I took my spinach and sauteed it in green tea and put the almonds and tea from frying pan into my magic bullet and blended it b/c I can not stand salad either. I threw in some cinnamon and it was AMAZING! And I am still very very full 3 hours later.

  12. Great blog! Thanks for the tips. I ordered The Cinch on Amazon last week but just got a message that delivery will be delayed until the 12th (must be all of you running out to grab the book :)) I really don’t want to wait to get started on the Fast Forward. Can someone please tell me if the SASS ingredients are allowed during Fast Forward? I absolutely despise eggs and am hoping to hide the flavor with some hot peppers.

    • Hi Stef. The approved Sass ingredients are vinegar, citrus juice (up to 1/4 cup per day), hot peppers, tea, and salt-free herbs / spices. Hope that helps!

  13. I, too, saw this on Rachel Ray and liked the program and Cynthia’s credentials. The fook is very informative.

    I am on day three and doing well, though growing tired of the five foods. I do a serious dance class at the gym, called Zumba, every morning and today I really felt a drop in energy the last 15 minutes of the class. But I made it through. I am hoping my energy level will pick up.

    The scale at the gym says I have dropped 4 pounds, and that is after working out and drinking at least 12 -16 ozoz of water during the class to stay hydrated. I am thrilled!

    Did anyone have a problem with regularity while on the five day detox? You would think with all the raspberries and fiber that would not be an issue. Perhaps all the yogurt?

    Anyway, a day and a half to go. Can’t wait to see how much more I lose!

    • Hi Annie. I definitely had the same problems in the first 3 days – lack of energy and regularity, but it went away by day 5 and thus the magic weight loss as you body cleans out!

  14. I have found the scramble to be the most challenging to make tasty. Today, day four, I think I got it and thought I’d post what I did. I sauteed some fresh garlic in the spray olive oil, then added the spinach and egg, which I had beaten with freshly ground pepper, a lpinch of cayenne, and sprinkled a tad of red pepper flakes in there. Then, when it was done, i added a little balsamic. and ground Italian herbs. It was tasty and enjoyable.

    I hope this helps. Can’t wait to get to the gym and weigh in on their doctor’s style scale to see what the loss is.

    I’d love any tips on moving to the 25 day regular diet. I have to travel this week. I bought Lara bars, etc that are recommended but would welcome suggestions from those of you who have already traveled on the diet.

    Cheers!

    • Hi Annie. The 25-days has been a little tough for me too due to all the food prep. The main thing to remember is that the diet is based on 4 evenly spaced 300-400 calorie meals. If you stick to the book’s recipes, you don’t have to count calories, but if you need to sub meals (I have too), you can choose a balanced low-calorie meal to replace it that includes a veggie / fruit, whole grain, and healthy fat. One sub I like for lunch: 1/2 almond butter sandwich and piece of fruit. Hope this helps!

      • Hi Rebecca:
        Hi Rebecca:

        Yes, your input was very helpful. Thanks a lot. I haven’t had time to finish reading the whole book and have to stop the 5 day program after tomorrow. Funny, I went out to buy more organic raspberries at Whole Foods and they had one frozen package left! My Costco here had organic, fresh raspberries so I lucked out. I think there may be a lot of us stocking up on the 5 ingredients.

        It looks to me like the 5 day program equals 16 or 17 WW points. Has anyone else calculated the points?

        Note to the lady looking for the book on Amazon, I went to Borders and they had it in stock here in the Bay Area. It was 10.00 more, but I didn’t want to wait to start either.

        Good Luck.

  15. So does the portion size of the 5 ingredients vary for each meal? Can you give an example of portions we can eat while im waiting for the book. Thank you so much. Love the blog

    • Hi. The portions don’t vary that much, however the recipes are different. Each of the yogurt recipes calls for 6oz and the raspberries always call for 1 cup. I’m sure you review my grocery list, you could figure it out before the book gets there!

  16. Hi Ladies:

    Just a note to all who do regular cardio, my trainer told me today that when you are on 1200 calories a day you should hold an intense cardio workout down to 30 minutes. Otherwise, you are likely burning muscle. Just an FYI if it applies.

    Annie

  17. I’m starting tomorrow. How much spinach do you use for each salad, almonds, yogurt, etc? I can figure out the eggs and raspberries per day.

    • Hi Kristin. It’s 1 cup spinach with the morning scramble and 2 cups with the salad, although I cooked it instead of making a salad on most days. Almonds is always 2 tablespoons and yogurt is always 6oz. Hope that helps!

  18. Hi Rebecca,
    Thanks so much for your blog- It is so well written, and gives a lot of insight into the diet. Thanks for taking your time out to write it. BTW you look great!!!
    I just finished day 3 on the fast forward. So far I have lost 5 pounds, so I am thrilled. I know it is a lot of water weight, but I am fine with that. My face looks a lot less puffy and my stomach seems flatter in just 3 days. My jeans zip up so much easier too 🙂 I really think all the food and wine over the holidays put me over the edge. I am looking to lose 15-20 pounds. I really never took the “baby weight” off after my three babies- they were all born in three years, and I have been using that as my excuse for the last 7 years. I am really tired of making excuses!! I’m also sick of ducking out of every picture that someone takes-My photo albums are lacking any picture of “Mommy”.
    I am 5’4″ and want to get back to my size 4- ok I’ll settle for 6!
    Luckily I love to work out, so I think that should help!

    For those of you just starting out her are some things I discovered(it really is a learning curve)
    1) Raspberries are hard to find in some areas right now- they are really not in season. I found some at Target(Sam’s Club didn’t have any) though-$3 for 6 ounces, which isn’t too bad. I ended up mixing raspberries and blueberries and have still have had great results. I figure blueberries are great antioxidants too. They have a few more calories per cup, but not many.

    2)Spinach- Sam’s carries large 1 pound organic baby spinach for around $3.50-great price and really fresh and tasty!!

    3) I know that the author recommends plain non-fat organic yogurt…But, I have been mixing a 1:1 ratio of the plain non-fat with Dannon Light and Fit VANILLA- same calories(110 per cup)/just has flavorings and artificial sweetener- It really tastes much better. I feel like I am getting a little treat with the sweetness.

    4) I really did not like “evening smoothie”, so I eat the yogurt topped with the berries by itself and just eat the almond butter plain. I never tried Almond Butter before, but I am hooked- absolutely love it. I will be using it from now on!!

    5) My morning scramble- I also saute a little garlic in the skillet(lightly wipe EVOO on skillet) then add the spinach until it starts to wilt, then add the eggs. Sprinkle with fresh ground pepper- really yummy. I can actually say I look forward to it. I think I will start to incorporate that into my diet in the future.

    6) I also found the first few days of the diet decreases “regularity”- I think it is the yogurt and the shear decrease of volume of food we are eating.

    7) I have to admit I did have one small cheat today- 1 Hershey kiss 🙂 Way better than the 15 I could knock down b4 the diet 🙂
    I’m actually looking forward to getting onto the scale in the morning !! Can’t remember the last time I said that!

    8) The book was hard to find at local bookstores. The Barnes and Noble and Borders near me were sold out- Must be popular.
    I called a Borders in another town- They had it! They have a 33% off coupon online that you can print

    Good Luck to everyone!!!
    Lisa

  19. Hi Rebecca,

    Great blog!
    I’m asking for this book for my birthday (Feb 15), but I don’t want to wait that long to start (I also want to look good ON my birthday – the big 3-0!). I was just wondering if you feel comfortble posting the vegetarian/vegan alternatives for the yogurt and eggs? I can’t find it mentioned anywhere!

    Thanks!
    Christy

    • Hi Christy. Thanks! The Vegetarian / Vegan alternatives are listed as organic, unflavored, extra-firm tofu in place of eggs; and organic plain soy or coconut milk yogurt. Hope that helps. Happy early birthday!

  20. Day 1 down and 2.5 pounds lighter. I know it’s largely water weight since I’ve been going to the bathroom like a pregnant woman but, I’ll take it.

    Since I’m the one who absolutely detests eggs, I thought I’d share my strategy. For the morning scramble, I actually sautee the spinach with garlic and water until it’s slightly wilted and I eat it separately from the eggs (the proportion of spinach to egg looked high for it to be tasty). For the egg, I char a hot pepper (jalepeno, serrano, etc) over an open flame, finely dice it and mix it with chopped cilantro and the scrambled egg. I spray the skillet with olive oil Pam and fry the egg mixture like an omelet. Get a good, high quality, aged balsamic to drizzle over the spinach – it will help to satisfy some of the salt craving.

    For my spinach salad, I toss the spinach with fresh herbs (dill is a favorite) and drizzle with a combination of white and aged brown balsamic. I do the egg omelet on the side (can’t stomach a hard boiled egg) and eat the raspberries and almonds like dessert. I have made this 3 course meal my dinner, which is very satisfying when dining with my family who had ooey gooey homemade lasagna last night. Didn’t even try a taste of it!

    I really appreciate everyone’s updates and tips. It’s making this much easier to follow to know you are all in it with me.

    On to Day 2…

  21. your detailed description and clear photos of the five day detox of the cinch helped me get started right away and i followed exactly your breakdown of each meal…i added herbs and spices as SASS advises to for meal 1 and meal 3 . well, i’m on day 5 now and i barely notice much change except for just the loss of some water on my body…i am 5.5 foot tall and 109 to 110 lbs . i was looking foward to that terrific 8lbs loss that Sass promised on the rachael ray show .. how about you ? Were you successful ?

    • Hi Nicole. I think if you read through my more recent blogs, you can see my progress. I ended up losing 9 pounds right off the bat, but nothing since then. Although I know that weight has a lot to do with frame size and muscle mass, at 5.5″ and 110 pounds, you’re already at the bottom of the normal BMI range, so maybe your body isn’t losing because you don’t have any to lose? Just a thought. But it’s great that you’re taking an active interest in your health and body weight. That will help ensure that you can stay healthy long into your older years! Keep up the good work.

  22. i have to go grocery shopping tomorrow to get my list of foods. i’m a little nervous. i need to lose about 48 lbs in a weight loss challenge. hopefully i can do this the right way. i’ll try it out and see how it goes. if anyone would like to keep in touch with me while on this. my e-mail is tracey.videen@yahoo.com

  23. Just wanted to share….after shopping for the items, I found that MaraNatha All Natural Raw Almond Butter does have oil and either salt or sugar added, but only the Organic Raw Almond Butter has almonds as only ingredient.

    I also found that Dannon was better choice than Stonyfield, where Dannon did not have added nutrients.

    Also….Publix frozen raspberries do not have any added sugars.

    Since, I don’t have the book yet, I am assuming the author mentions to have no added ingredients.

    • Hi Christine! That’s odd, becuase my almond butter definitely does not have anything added – I double checked! There are so many varieties I had to check every label to be sure I was getting a truly natural one. You are correct, the book talks about no added ingredients. There’s not a Publix near me, but I’m considering using the store-brand raspberries when I do detox again because I did the math and compared to the no-sugar-added raspberries, there’s only 2 extra grams of sugar per cup in the Kroger-brand. Seems hardly worth the extra $2 a bag just to save me 2g of sugar! Maybe I’ll buy the cheap ones and rinse them. Thanks for stopping by and sharing!

  24. Rebecca,
    The store-brand I bought at Publix did not have any added sugar. I was surprised and it was $3.99 for a 12 oz. bag which is quite a bit cheaper than fresh.
    But, I went to Kroger and read the back of the Natural MaraNatha Raw Almond Butter and it had either salt or sugar added, but the Organic Raw Almond Butter had no added ingredients, but the price difference was phenonomal. The organic was $12.99 and the other was just $6.99. I haven’t opened my organic one yet. I’m going to go back and double check at the store cause it was a major difference.

    Another question….
    Does the book mention the importance of 5 days on this first part of diet? I’m feeling kind of light headed and stuff with this first day and wondering if it will be healthy for 5 days. I weigh about 135 and eat pretty lean anyways. Just wondering if there are side effects to look for that may cause one to not go 5 days with this.

    Also, are you supposed to take any supplemental vitamins?

    • OMG – I know! The organic almond butter price was unbeleivable. My sister called me from the grocery when she was buying her ingredients and I didn’t believe her until I saw it for myself!

      You don’t have to go 5 days, heck you can skip it altogether if you want, but the purpose of the 5 days was to clean out your body and cure your cravings. I was pretty weak and light-headed the first couple of days because I tend to workout a lot, but I was fine by Day 4. If you don’t feel that you have a lot of weight to lose or cravings to kick, you could just skip it!

  25. I’m so glad I found your blog! I’m vegetarian and so excited to get started on this plan but I’m having a little problem…. in the book it states to use the zero fat plan yogurt. I’m having a really hard time getting it down my throat even with a little raspberries. I found some fat free ricotta cheese that I hope I can substitute for the yogurt. Serving size is 1/4 cup. It has zero fat, 75g sodium, 4carbs, 4 sugars and 6 protein. However, I don’t want to sabotage the program. I think it is pretty comparable to the yogurt. Any thoughts?????

    • Hmmm. That’s an interesting question. I’m not sure how ricotta would work as a sub because the point of the yogurt is the probiotics. The book suggest that you can sub coconut milk yogurt (usually found in the organic section) or greek yogurt, but if you don’t like plain yogurt you will probably hate the greek variety. If not, another reader said she’s been using the Light ‘N Fit Vanilla yogurt by Dannon. Although it has a little bit more sugar and calories than plain, but basically serves the same purpose and tastes better. Maybe try that and decrease the raspberries a little to cut back on the sugar.

    • Hi Ladies-
      The Danon Fit and Light vanilla yogurt(0 grams fat) has the exact same calories as non fat plain yogurt…I think it tastes great- it just has some artificial sweeteners and flavorings. I mixes it with the plain-1:1 ratio. I used it for day3-5. I ended up losing over 6 + pounds on the five day part. I am on day 1 of the 25 day core. I am enjoying finally having some whole grains!!!
      The 2 recipes I tried today were very good: Caesar salad for Lunch and the Toasted pita topped with fresh mozzerella and field green, basil and balsamic. They were both great. I think what I am realizing now is that my portion that I was eating before this diet were way off!! I could have knocked down 2 servings of each of the meals today.
      I am really impressed with many of Cynthia Sass’ recipe. The only ones that I am not wild about are the breakfast ones- They sound like odd combos to me.
      Good Luck Everyone!!!
      Lisa

  26. Just a thought on the most recent question regarding ricotta cheese vs. yogurt for the probiotics. You can always take proviotic capsules. New Chapter is a good brand. Whole Foods has a nice selection them in the referigerated area.

    Hope that helps.

  27. Hi Rebecca,
    I came acrossed your blog while searching for people that have tried this plan. I am on day 3 and feel like I could chew my arm off…lol. I am doing the 5 day fast forward. I enjoy all the foods and feel “okay” right afterwards, but I am hungry within a couple of hours. I do work out daily usually run 3mi or do the eliptical and weights. I don’t know if it’s just not enough food while working out? I am going to continue with day 4 and 5, but it’s been tough for me. Thanks for all your posts and updates it really helps!
    Christy

    • Hey Christy. I work out a lot too and the book suggests that if you’re active and need more calories, add an egg or yogurt to one or two of the meals. I also tried an extra spoonful of almond butter sometimes. Keep up the good work!

  28. Pingback: Cinch Detox Do Over, Day 1 « Rocky Top Rebecca

  29. Hi tried the 5 day fast forward lost 6 pounds. I got creative with my mornng egg and spinach. Instead of a scramble, I beat an egg with watr and lots of pepper and mrs. Dash, then added the spinach for filling. I then tried a thin spritz of pamand fried my egg and put it on top of warm cooled spinach, again lots of pepper , that was it for me something I actually looked forward to, My only quesiton is this the book and lists are not very clear on portions. If I use frozen spinach, which book says is OK and I use a cup it is a lot more than I get if I use a cup (even firmly packed) raw and then steam it. I know there are not that many calories in spinach but it does make a difference in how much you are eatng to ward off huner and add fiber. Any thoughts?

    I also had to start the 5-day in the middle of a raspberriy problem. I was purchasing fresh berries, definitely yummier thatn frozen for salad and with almonds, then oucld not find a single one in any store…someting had happened to the shipments, I presume weather. I found the frozen ones horrible in the salad so I thawed them out and pureed them with tangerine juice and balsamic and ate them over my salad as a thick dressing. Not too bad, definitely better than frozen and not thawed, and mushy. I was wondering if blue, black or strawberries might be acceptable substitues but was faithful to the plan for the five days.

    As I started the regular plan I found I was eating way too many carbs, I am gluten free and don’t eat GF bread that oftenm but do like wild rice but not 4 meal s a day. I am eating ceareal or oatmeal for breakfast and I eat maybe one slice of bread a day, I try to have it for lunch and snack. Then eat a different grain for dinner. Way too many carbs for me. But I am trying to follow it. Trying more excersize hope to lose 15 total pounds.

    good luck everyone!

    • Hi. I had the same concern about spinach, but always used fresh spinach and just eye-balled the portions. I don’t recall how a box of frozen spinach reads, but I imagine that it might list the cup equivalent somewhere on there. Not sure! Raspberries are the same issue – a cup of thawed frozen raspberries yield a lot more than 1 cup frozen (un-thawed) or fresh. I had your concern about carbs also. Although no gluten-free, I don’t typically eat nearly this many carbs as they tend to make me feel bloated. As I move into the next phase, I plan to eat the carbs for breakfast, snack, and maybe a little at lunch, then stick to just produce and protein at dinner.

  30. good for you! i start the 5-day fast forward tomorrow and am looking forward to the recipes (i like all those foods a lot) but am really concerned about hunger. i have a relatively balanced healthy diet already, but i eat more food than that in a day and am already always hungry. eeep!

    • Hi Amanda. I did the detox twice and was never hungry until a little bit on the 4th and 5th day. I’m like you – usually hungry, but did not have an problem! Good luck!

  31. Pingback: The next 40 days « from marriage to carriage

  32. Can u add crystal light or flavoring to water? Do you eat almost w whole cup of sliced almonds a day? Sounds like a lot. Thanks!

    • Hi. The book recommends sticking to plain water and cites that artificial sweeteners can actually increase your cravings for sweets, however I don’t think it would hurt if you had a little. I did have a cup of Cyrstal Light on occasion when I did the Detox and it did not seem to hurt my progress. Yes, it’s a lot of almonds, although not a cup. It equates to 8 Tbs of sliced almonds, which is 1/2 cup. Good luck and thanks for stopping by!

    • Hello again. I went back and read my original Detox Day 1 post that most people comment on, and noticed that I listed 4 cups sliced almonds in my grocery list. I’m guessing that’s what you are referring to, and I have no idea how I came up with that math! It should actually be 2 cups, not including the 10 Tbs of almond butter… but some people skip the almond butter in the smoothie and just eat another 2 Tbs of almonds.

  33. Can you use fat free light and fit vanilla yogurt instead of plain yogurt? I don’t think it will make much of a difference. There is less calories and sugar.

    • Hi Becca. Yes, you can sub them. Cynthia Sass is not a fan of artificial sweeteners, which you can read about in her book, because she thinks they promote sugar cravings. However a lot of people don’t like plain yogurt becuase it’s bitter, especially when combined with raspberries. I used half of each… plain Greek yogurt (which is very bitter) in my smoothie, but Light ‘n Fit yogurt in my parfait. Hope that helps!

    • If you are following the plan exactly, Cynthia does not recommend any exercise during detox becuase you aren’t eating enough calories to sustain additional physical activity. When you get past detox, she recommends at least 30 minutes of light to moderate activity (fast walking is acceptable) every day. Personally, I love to workout and wanted to keep that up, so I add more protein and calories to my morning meals. It’s all about what works best for you. After you’re on it a while, you’re learn to customize it based on your own preferences.

  34. Hi Rebecca – I love your blog! Especially your review of the Cinch FF plan! I’m on day 3 and it’s going pretty well. At my 2nd weigh-in this morning, I had lost 3.8 lbs so far. Yay! I am pretty close to my goal weight, so wasn’t sure how much to expect to lose, so I’m excited! Anyway…a quick question. Do you know if I can substitute 2 Tbl of raw almond butter for the 2 Tbl of almonds during the other meals during FF? Are the sliced almonds and almond butter interchangeable? I’d kind of like to have a smoothie at lunchtime instead of the yogurt/sliced almonds/raspberry combo. A smoothie seems to be an easier way to get those raspberries down. I love raspberries, but I’m not sure if I’m going to want to see another one anytime soon after these 5 days are done! 🙂 Thanks!

    • Hi, thanks. You can definitely interchange the meal plan, but I am not sure about the almonds. Check the nutrition of both the nuts and the butter, then sub the nutritional equivalent. Assuming you got raw almond butter, they are basically the same thing, but one is condensed and could be more calorie-dense. Hope that helps!

    • Hi. You just mix the juice from an orange with balsamic. You can also add some of the natural seasonings she talkes about in the book, but I liked a mostly orange juice base with a little bit of vinegar.

Leave a Reply

