Cinch 5 Day Detox

I like to occasionally read the Shape.com blogs (http://www.shape.com/blogs/weight-loss-coach) and one of them sparked my interest this week.  Cynthia Sass, Shape’s resident Weight Loss Coach, was discussing her new book Cinch and the 5-Day-Detox plan that can “change your life”.  The detox phase is supposed to kick-start a new diet by introducing order and simplicity and quick weight loss (up to 8 pounds) to cleanse your system and boost motivation. You eat the exact same meals, at the same times, every day for 5 days, although you can mix up the order in which you eat them (example – you can eat Meal 1 for dinner if you prefer).   According to Sass, this will “give your body, mind, and taste buds a fresh start and achieve real results.”  As an added bonus, you’ll supposedly end up with fewer cravings for salty, fatty, or sweet foods, as well as a new appreciation for real food’s natural flavor.  I can definitely use the sugar-craving suppression!

I decided to splurge and order the book ($15.59 on Amazon.com), which should arrive on my doorstep tomorrow.  I’ll start with the 5-day Detox and blog about my experience, then decide on how to proceed after I finish reading the book.  The detox phase consists of 5 ingredients – spinach, almonds, raspberries, eggs, and plain yogurt.  Fortunately I like all of the ingredients, so it doesn’t seem so bad.  I’ll start on Friday and continue  through Tuesday of next week, just in time for our Thursday office party!  Stay tuned…

(click on the picture to read the Shape blog from author, Cynthia Sass)

10 thoughts on “Cinch 5 Day Detox

  1. Thanks! I have added you to my blogs to follow, would love to compare notes. I’m beginning Saturday. Friday is hubby’s b-day and we also have a New Years Eve party to go too.

  2. I think that’s going to be my biggest problem – I don’t like many of the foods she’s suggesting in her book. I need to retrain my taste buds and learn to love good food. Do you think that’s a possibility?

    • Ha ha ha – I have no idea how to retrain tastebuds, but supposedly you get a new appreciation for foods flavors after the 5-day detox. We’ll see!

  3. I started the 5-day detox on Tuesday after seeing it on one of the morning shows. I’ve never done a detox program before, but after all the junk I ate over the holidays my body needed a break. The first day was very hard for me but it got easier by the second day. I’m on my third day and I’m down 4lbs.. I hope to lose another couple of pounds in the next few days. Another 10 to go.

  4. I ordered the book and can’t wait to try it. Wish the book was here already! I need to look at the different ways to combine those first 5 ingredients so I can start.

  5. I ordered the book and cannot wait to try it. I wish it would get here already! I am anxious to start the first week detox, but need to see ideas for variations with the five foods. I am big into cooking, so I need to get creative.

  6. Hi! I just started the detox yesterday. I do not have the book, but saw it on the RR show & on-line. I actually like all of the foods Cynthia recommends. My dilemma is can someone PLEASE help me re: the portions during the 5-day detox – are they limited (especially the almonds & eggs) or can you have all you want? Also, are any snacks allowed (?almonds & berries?).

    • Hi Barbara. The portions are limited, and it seems this was confusing for a lot of people after watching Cynthia on Rachel Ray. Unfortunately, I cannot list the recipes online without violating copyright laws, however you can probably figure it out by sifting through my blogs from early January! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

