Starting Over – Diet Day 1

The holidays are over and it’s back to reality.  And my reality is that I’ve gained 8 pounds since my 30th birthday 6 months ago!!  I saw it in the mirror and felt it in my clothes, but remained in denial or just plain oblivion until now.  Even my size 8 “curvy” jeans are suddenly tight.  I was a little worried about stepping on the scale this morning after an entire holiday season of sugar-binging.  As I stood there staring at my number, it seemed impossible to comprehend that I’d reached my new high – the heaviest I’ve ever been in my life – despite my 3 to 5 workouts a week and mostly vegetarian diet.  I guess that old saying about not being able to eat whatever you want after 30 is true.  Dang sugar!!!

So here I am, once again.  Wasn’t I here this time last year also?  How do we break this cycle?  I suppose I’m starting over, but at least I know what I need to do.  Time to break out the food journal and the workout log, turn up my nose to sugar and processed food, and get back to the healthy eating habits that I know so well but have recently chosen not to follow.  And when I hit my new goal, perhaps 3-4 months from now, vow to never, ever, get to this point again.  I even took “before” pictures in my bathing suit this morning just to help it sink in and will probably keep the picture close by during this journey to help me overcome temptation.

Do you know what’s scariest to me?  8 pounds = 24,000 extra calories that I consumed above and beyond what my body needed.  How the heck did I eat that many extra calories working out as much as I do!?  So now on a reasonable 1-pound-per-week weight loss regimen (cutting 3,000 calories per week), it will take me 8 weeks just to get back to where I started!  Geez, talk about depressing.  Trying to focus on a positive, at least my weight loss tracker will look better after starting at a higher number! 

Why wait until the new year, I want to start today!  I will start posting my food & exercise  journal with each new blog, as well as my weight loss tracker on Fridays after my weigh-in…  partly for accountability, and partly for whomever out there might need some healthy menu ideas or calorie information.

Tuesday      
Food Description Calories Fat Carbs
2 eggs 140 10 2
1 cup 2% milk 120 5 11
1 cup fruit juice 100 0 20
Banana 100 0 21
10 almonds 70 6 1
Baked potato with sour cream 200 3 35
Large salad w/ veggies, lt dressing 300 6 15
Baked fish with lemon 150 2 1
Baked okra 110 3 12
       
Grand Totals 1290 35 118
       
Vitamins     Yes
Workout – 20 min cycle + yoga; weights + 3 mile run Yes
One thought on “Starting Over – Diet Day 1

  1. Best wishes! Yes, I’m finding the only-5-foods thing a little tough, but honestly it’s easier for me to kick off a diet with an approach like that because it tells me what to eat. I don’t do well with the “just eat less” approach.
    You’re so smart to take control of your weight young. I’m 46 and I’m telling you, it doesn’t get any easier! I really began noticing the weight sticking on a bit more around age 40, so good for you!
    Maybe try getting the Cinch book from your library?

Leave a Reply

