Review: Kashi Frozen Entrees

Although I usually make healthy homemade lunches, I like to keep a few quick meals on-hand for those days when I run out of lunches at home, don’t have time to make anything, and don’t want to rely on fast food choices.  I recently discovered Kashi’s new line of frozen entrees.  So far I’ve tried the Black Bean Mango and today the Mayan Harvest Bake.  YUM!! 

The Mayan Harvest includes: plantains with roasted sweet potato, black beans and kale; spicy ancho sauce with pumpkin seed garnish served over Kashi seven whole grain polenta, plus amaranth.

I love the mixture of spicy (sauce) and sweet (plantains / bananas).  Very, very tasty.  Overall, I’d give Kashi Frozen Meals 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Positives:  Delicious, vegan / vegetarian friendly, unique entree selection, and all-natural.

Negatives:  Very high in sodium, hard to find, and expensive.  My Kroger usually has them at $4.49 each, but I only buy them when they go on sale for no more than $3.49.

Leave a Reply

