Juice Fasting, Part 2

Well I didn’t think I would put myself through this sort of torture again, especially considering how much I love to eat, but I had already bought the juice and didn’t want to waste it.  The last time I tried, I made it 1.5 days before giving into a delectable plate of Asian food that our Culinary team whipped up (I work at a restaurant company).

So I’m now about 1.25 days into my 2-day juice fast and so far so good.  My stomach grumbles from time to time, which means drink more juice, but overall I’m doing fine.  I have meetings all day long, will try to squeeze in yoga at lunch, plus a hair appointment after work, so there isn’t even time to think about food today.  Even though a bowl of my favorite Cadbury eggs are sitting on a nearby desk, I will remain strong. 

I read a lot about juice fasting before setting out on this experiment and am reassured by various research that it will help drop excess water-weight, clean out your system, and not affect your metabolism if only done for 2 days.  Afterall, your body takes about 2-days to process food, so today, my tummy is busy working on that big ice cream cone I ate on Sunday.  Tomorrow it will be back to my 1200 – 1400 calorie diet.

One thing that seemed to be a recurring theme in the research I did on fasting, is that it is a very introspective experience, almost religious, which is probably why it is an integral part of so many different religions.  I can see why, because I have to dig way down to muster the will power to complete this test!

Leave a Reply

