The Morning After

The morning after a weak moment in my quest for healthy eating.  Granted, there is very little sinful food in my house, so my “splurge” consisted of about 3 servings of baked Tostitos with sour cream and salsa, plus a small bowl of low-fat ice cream with extra dark-chocolate chips and macadamia nuts.  I somehow still managed to get under my daily calorie maximum, but I feel badly nonetheless. 

So as all of my nutrition coaches have said, learn from your mistakes and move on; you cannot undo what has been done.  So what did I learn?  Well, it started just like it always does… someone at work had a treat that I needed to sample.  In this case, some deluxe chocolates from Alaska.  I had 1, yum, then 2, 3, 4.  I stopped at 4, but the wheels were already turning.  So I went to the gym after work to finish the workout I had started earlier that morning.  I managed 30 minutes on the elliptical and became very tired.  I drove home determined to stick to my pre-planned healthy dinner, but then I wanted a little snack while I waited for my husband to finish playing with his bicycles and come inside for dinner.  The little snack turned into a big snack and that was that.

So what I learned is that I have not yet mastered portion control and still struggle just to have one and done… and am very lucky I’m not 300 pounds!  On a positive note, however, I have gotten better at starting over with my healthy habits the next day (today!) instead of letting it drag on.  I WILL conquer this!!!

       
Food Description Cal Fat Carbs
Homemade granola bar 210 5 28
Low-fat cottage cheese 90 3 6
Pear 100 0 22
Large salad w/ veggies, lt dressing 300 4 20
10 almonds 70 6 1
Lentil soup 340 5 43
1 cup 1% milk 110 3 11
Grand Totals 1220 26 131
       
Vitamins     yes
Workout – Stregnth,  30m fast walk     yes
Leave a Reply

