Sugar Detox – Day 1

 

Is it any wonder that our country is so addicted to junk food (and overweight) when the candy aisle takes up more grocery real estate than fruit?

I’ve read that it takes 2 weeks to get all of this sugar out of my system and stop the cravings, so my goal is to beat these cravings by the end of the month.  That gives me a few extra days to eat my remaining fruit that I refuse to throw away and cannot be frozen (pears, apples).  Yes, I know, fruit is not the culprit, but it’s still sweet and triggers my cravings sometimes, so while in detox, it’s got to go.  Veggies, lean protein, and whole grains.  Mmm, hungry already.  (not!)

So DAY 1 … started out with a fruit smoothie (bananas, strawberries, coconut juice).  Lunch will be a small salad and 1/2 turkey & provolone sandwich, then leftover Red Lobster for dinner… shrimp, mashed potatoes, and those heavenly biscuits.  I know, I know, lots of carbs, but no sugar!  It’s a start.

Leave a Reply

