Less Waste, Less Money, Better Life

So first off, my husband wants me to ask the blog community if anyone else (besides me) occasionally vacuums inside cabinets and under the kitchen/bathroom sinks.  I mean, c’mon… it does get a little dirty under there eventually!  Moving on…

My husband and I have been fortunate not to feel any major effects of the recession, however it has helped open our eyes to all the little ways we can cut back – “just in case”.  It started off as trying to cut down our spending and save more, and eventually it’s become more of a lifestyle change.  I can remember spending weekends shopping and “running errands”, often spending on things we really didn’t need that just further cluttered our lives.  We also ate out several times a week, which really add up, both for your wallet and your waistline.  Last month alone I noticed that we spent only about 20% on restaurants compared to what we had spent the month before.  That’s a lot!  These days, we do still enjoy an occasional shopping trip or dinner out, but they are few and far between and I do not miss them a bit!  We’re too busy running, biking, cooking, getting together with friends, hanging out at home, and of course, blogging about it all. 

I was reminded of this yesterday while glacing through the latest LLBean catalog.  I basically just toss all catalogs that I receive into the recycling bin, so I figure eventually they’ll stop sending them, but the cover of this one made it hard to throw away… I can’t seem to find a picture online, but it’s a cute little golden retriever puppy trying to open a Christmas package.  So that got me thinking that maybe I could use these pictures for homemade Christmas cards.  Why waste money on the kind you buy at the store when homemade ones mean more anyway?  So now I’ll be on the lookout for more good holiday pictures, along with other ideas to cut down on waste and money while trying to make the most of my life.

Leave a Reply

