Happy Tuesday

Another day to celebrate life, and do some work too. 

I left work yesterday feeling very strange – vision was fuzzy, dizzy, and a bad headache.  My husband think it’s just sugar withdrawal.  Maybe.  After a week of sugar binges, I guess maybe my body is confused by the single piece of fruit and no cookies, cake, or ice cream.  I did finally hit McDonald’s for a $1 double cheeseburger, plus the $1 chicken sandwich and then some chocolate cranberries while watching my husband play flag football.  Needless to say I was quite full after all of that, but I did feel better!  I only eat fast food about once a month, if that, and I was reminded of why I don’t – it was decent but just doesn’t compare to homemade food.  Plus, I glanced at the nutrition facts as I was finishing the second sandwich… how in the world did they pack nearly 400 calories into this little sandwich?  Good lord.  I’m not distressing though because I’m pretty sure I still stayed under 2,000 calories for the day and running 30 miles a week, I need at least 1,800 to 2,000 calories a day.

So that makes me think about caloric needs.  I know this has been a hot topic of conversation and it can be confusing.  I’ve had friends and family tell me about restricting their calories to 800 to 1,200 a day.  OMG!!  Unless you weigh 100 pounds or less, your body cannot function on that few calories!  Not to mention your metabolism is going to slow down and go into starvation mode.  There are quite a few calculators out there on the web to help you figure out how many you need.  I did this with a trainer once and determined that I need approximately 1,800 calories a day to maintain my weight with light exercise, and about 1,500 to lose weight.  This is going to be different for everyone based on your height, weight, level of activity, and your goal, so I recommend that everyone go out and see what’s right for you. 

OK, back to work now.  Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

