Another Monday

Well, it’s back to Monday again.  But at least it’s a pretty Monday!  It’s going to be a beautiful week, perfect for outdoor workouts. 

We were visiting my inlaws in Brentwood, Tennessee this past weekend, which is an awesome place for runners – lots of trails and parks.  I ran my 12 miles on Saturday in 1 hour and 50 minutes!  It was a really great run, the kind where I’m just flying along, only partially aware that I’m running as I drift through my thoughts and the music blaring on my iPod.  The trail maps are shown below (or click on the picture) if anyone is interested in more information. 

Brentwood, TN Trail Maps

Brentwood, TN Trail Maps

Despite the fact that we were visiting family over the weekend, I also managed to maintain healthy eating habits and I feel great.  After a couple months of excess sugar intake, I’ve decided to swear off processed sugar until after the marathon, giving myself a couple of breaks for Thanksgiving and Christmas.  Sugar is very addictive and I tend to go way overboard, which has a negative impact on my running as well as my waistline!  I’ve also been giving up meat a lot lately.  I’m not turning vegetarian (although I’ve been in some meetings that  make me want to try), but I’ve found that I just don’t crave it or need it in many of my meals.  I tend to get plenty of protein through eggs, nuts, greek yogurt, and beans.

Daily Meal Tracker – Cherry Lara Bar and handful of Quaker Oatmeal Squares for breakfast; spinach salad with light ranch and a 1/2 peanut butter & banana sandwich for lunch; Slim-Fast optima bar for snack… no idea about dinner yet!

Leave a Reply

