Sleep (or lack thereof)

Every night is a battle for me, first trying to fall asleep and then trying to stay asleep.  Why is this so difficult for some people and not for others?  It also seems that women have more issue with this than men.  Men seem to fall asleep the second their heads hit the pillow, yet we’re laying there, sometimes for hours, trying to will ourselves to sleep and growing increasingly annoyed.  Then finally, sleep comes… and then suddenly wide awake, hoping to have slept through the night and it’s time to get up, but nope, only 1am. 

Below are some tips I found on the Sleep Foundation website along with my personal comments.  I thought I had done everything I could, but I guess there are still a few things I can try.  Although I reference TV as a potential issue, even when my husband is out of town and the TV is never turned on, I have the same problems.

 

Healthy Sleep Tips

1. Maintain a regular bed and wake time schedule including weekends.  (RH: Already do this.  Usually in bed by 9:30 or 10 and up by 6)

2. Establish a bedtime routine such as soaking in a hot bath or hot tub and then reading a book or listening to soothing music. (RH: Our bedtime routine usually starts with sports or news on the TV and me trying to block it out.  I know this is an issue but not a battle I’m going to win in my house since my husband is convinced that he needs the TV to fall asleep.)

3. Create a sleep-conducive environment that is dark, quiet, comfortable and cool.  (RH: Dark – check, quiet – usually, cool – hmm, I guess I could turn the AC down more at night.)

4. Sleep on a comfortable mattress and pillows.  (RH: ours are awesome.)

5. Use your bedroom only for sleep and sex.  It is best to take work materials, computers and televisions out of the sleeping environment.  (RH: Mostly this is true or us, but refer to #2 about TV issue.)

6. Finish eating at least 2-3 hours before your regular bedtime.  (RH: usually done with dinner by 7 or 8, I guess we could try to eat earlier when our schedules allow.)

7. Exercise regularly. It is best to complete your workout at least a few hours before bedtime. (RH: almost always workou in morning or at lunch.)

8. Avoid caffeine close to bedtime. It can keep you awake.  (RH: I do not drink coffee, soda, or tea, so this should not be an issue.  I do ocassionally take a 1/2 caffeine pill if I get desperate, but only in the mornings.)

9. Avoid nicotine.  Used close to bedtime, it can lead to poor sleep.  (RH: never)

10. Avoid alcohol close to bedtime.  (RH: never)

Source: http://www.sleepfoundation.org/article/sleep-topics/healthy-sleep-tips

3 thoughts on “Sleep (or lack thereof)

  1. I have the opposite problem. I fall asleep with no problem, but I need vast amounts of sleep. I have to have eight hours and even if I have eight hours, I can still do a 1.5-2 hour nap in the middle of the day. And this isn’t a “I have to make up from getting too little last night” issue. I go to bed at 10:15 and get up at 6:30 every day and am still perpetually fatigued. I can already see that I am becoming mamama…falling asleep while playing cards. 🙂

  2. Have you tried writing in a journal before you go to sleep. A lot of times people (you’re right- mostly women) lay in bed and their mind races about what happened that day or what will happen the next day. You might want to try it….. It might help clear you mind. Or at least mentally reviewing your mental list before going to bed.
    -A

  3. I can relate to your lack of sleep! In fact, I had major bouts of insomnia when I was a teenager, and have had to work hard over the years to improve my habits so that I can get better quality sleep.
    Unfortunately, from time to time, the problems return. For me, it’s usually because my mind is racing, thinking over and over about work issues or things that are bothering me. It’s like I wake up and am instantly thinking about these things.

    Anyway, I wanted to second “A’s” tip above…maybe try journaling for a little while before bed. It sounds like you’re already following a lot of the standard tips!

Leave a Reply

