Rainy Thursday

It’s a rainy Thursday but I’m in a sunny mood, despite another restless night with thunderous weather and terrified dogs.  For the first time in my adult life, I feel like I’ve got a handle on healthy eating habits.  Most of the past 15 years, I’ve been yo-yo dieting trying to drop first 5, then 10, then 15 vanity pounds.    Usually I would do fine for a couple of weeks, only to get too hungry (or PMS) and binge for a couple of weeks.  It’s like in my mind, I know it’s about balanced eating and eating good most of the time, and yet that is so much harder to do when everyday you are surrounded by delicious, sinful food, especially working in the restaurant business!  (3 weeks ago we had 7 cakes we were given to taste-test for a new menu… who can say no to that?) 

Since starting my blog, I’ve felt this new feeling of confidence and motivation to eat my best, push myself harder in my daily workouts, and be the best that I can be.  I guess it’s the accountability of putting it all out there for the world to see, as well as the motivation I get from reading everyone else’s dietary or fitness blogs.  Even though I haven’t really been focusing on my weight, I’ve noticed it starting to slowly slip downward this month.  Hooray!  I’ll keep trucking along and we’ll see where it ends up, finally figure out what is my “ideal weight”.  I figure it will settle there once I’ve gotten into a long-term healthy routine.

Daily Meal Tracker:  Large green monster smoothie for breakfast, small salad with twinkie for light lunch, handful of mixed nuts and an apple for afternoon snack, summer sausage with cucumber salad for dinner.

Leave a Reply

