TGIF

Friday at last.  The cooking class last night went really well, although I totally forgot to take pictures!  We made 3 amazing sandwiches and a great dessert, but I saved about half for my lunch today.  I was proud of myself for having the willpower not to overeat with so much great food in front of me!  I posted the recipes on my “Favorite Recipes” link.

So since this blog is about being healthy, let’s discuss specifics.  I’m 5’6 and 134 pounds, an average weight for my small-medium frame.  There, it’s out there for the world to see – talk about accountability!!  I weigh in on Fridays normally, and sad to say, that can etiher make or break my weekend.  Why are we women so obsessed with the number on the scale anyway?  I’m well aware of our natural weight fluctuations, and yet when it drops a little, I walk around all day on a skinny high, but if I’m up a couple pounds, it’s like doomsday.  It’s so silly, and yet I can’t seem to help the emotional roller coaster.  I’m also a perfectionist, so I’m constantly looking for ways to perfect everything in my life, a never-ending impossible feat, since nothing is ever perfect.  I think the hardest thing for me to accept is that no matter how hard I work, I will never be perfect.

OK on to less stressful subjects – food!  I had one of my leftover blackberry thyme brie sandwiches with sweet & spicy pecans for breakfast.  For lunch I’m having my leftover tomato pesto focaccia sandwich and a side salad with home-grown cucumber.  I also have some green peppers and strawberries to snack on whenever I get hungry.  I’m not working out today.  My body needs a rest in advance of the Weekend Warrior class tomorrow.  I’ll probably take a cat nap in my car later.  Has anyone else done that?  You should – very relaxing!  If I limit it to 35 to 45 minutes, I wake up feeling refreshed and ready to get back to work.

Leave a Reply

