Not quite Friday.

It’s a beautiful Thursday so far.  The heat and humidity haven’t rolled in and zapped my energy yet.  I do wonder how people survived this heat before air conditioning, especially when they had to wear those huge cover-all dresses!

I am sipping on my Green Monster Smoothie this morning, recipe courtesty of “Iowa Girl Eats” (blend 2 handfuls spinach, 1 cup milk, 1 T peanut butter, 1/4 cup oats, 1 frozen banana, 1/2 cup crushed ice)  I recommend chopping the peeling and chopping the banana before freezing.  I had quite a time trying to peel a frozen banana, and my blender had a tough time.  It’s suprisingly good, considering how strange it looks.   I will definitely make it again.

I’m going light for lunch today with a romaine salad, strawberries, blueberries, feta cheese, sprinkle of almonds and blueberry vinaigrette.  I have a cooking class tonight – “Gourmet Summer Sandwiches”.  We’ll make four sandwiches: brie and blackberry thyme jam with basil and spicy pecans; pesto, mozzarella and tomato with roasted garlic aioli; fried green tomato with apple infused goat cheese and caramelized onions; and strawberries and cream puff pastry with chocolate sauce for dessert!  Hmm… sounds like I need to run a lot today to earn this sinful meal.  Good thing I brought a to-go box!

Leave a comment